Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Eluveite: Origins

Swiss folk-metal darlings Eluveite return with their follow-up to 2012's Helvetios, titled Origins. New to the band is fiddle player Nicole, who joins Merlin Sutter (Drums), Chrigel Glanzmann (Vocals, Mandola & Mandolin, Tin & Low Whistles, Bagpipes, Bodhràn), Anna Murphy (Hurdygurdy, Vocals, Flute), Ivo Henzi (Guitars), Rafael Salzmann (Guitars), Patrick Kistler (Tin & Low Whistles, Bagpipe), and Kay Brem (Bass). Not much has changed however, as the bands engaging blend of melodic death metal and folk is in full force, with some of the highlights being "From Darkness", "The Call of the Mountains", and the crushing "Sucellos". Soaring Tin Whistles are everywhere here, often bullying out the guitars as the main star of each song, which, to be honest, is what separates Eluveite from every other melodic death metal act out there. Origins contains 16 tracks, and it's a lot to take in, though by the time you make a few passes through the album, there's a feeling of 'sameness' going on not only with the songs on display, but to previous Eluveite material. Slania was a breath of fresh air in 2008, but this band in some ways seems to be pumping out product that, to these ears anyway, all sounds way too similar.

That's not to say that Origins is bad by any means. "King" is a terrific song, with some great metal riffing, growls, and that ever present Tin Whistle, but that same formula permeates just about every song. If you pick out 5 tracks, you've basically heard the whole album, but that's kind of the experience I've been having with this band for a few years now. For those who can't get enough of this band and the whole folk-metal thing, Origins is going to make you quite happy. Everyone else can expect a more than decent enough album, but there's a feeling of 'been there, heard that' which you just can't get away from.

Track Listing
1. Origins
2. The Nameless
3. From Darkness
4. Celtos
5. Virunus
6. Nothing
7. The Call of the Mountains
8. Sucellos
9. Inception
10. Vianna
11. The Silver Sister
12. King
13. The Day of Strife
14. Ogmios
15. Carry the Torch
16. Eternity

Added: October 14th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1410
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by