Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Emerson, Keith & Greg Lake: Live From Manticore Hall

In 2010 Keith Emerson and Greg Lake embarked on a world tour. Four years later we have the release Live From Manticore Hall, recorded at the Ridgefield Playhouse in Ridgefield, CT. Included are eight ELP tunes and one King Crimson tune, "I Talk To The Wind", thrown in for good measure. This is a great set and the songs fit remarkably well within the duo format.

Perhaps these tunes are a little more stripped down than their studio cousins but they really do sound spritely energized and the playing is stellar from both musicians. Lake's voice still sounds great as he has kept his warm tone remarkably well and Emerson is a beast on keyboards, as is to be expected.

There are some incredibly poignant moments here; the classically beautiful "From The Beginning" defined by Lake's acoustic guitar, the pretty "I Talk To The Wind" with Lake's deep warm vocals, the magnificent "Take A Pebble" highlighted by Emerson's piano flourishes where the notes take on a bottomless depth and the wistful "C'est Le Vie".

The music is amped up on "Bitches Crystal", from the Tarkus album, where the keyboard work is more intense and on the intriguing "The Barbarian", again highlighted with Emerson's unmitigated virtuosity.

One of the best songs on the disc has to be the classic epic "Tarkus". Beginning with just piano, this version is less intense right off the bat but fear not as it doesn't take long for Emerson to weave his magic around this incredibly complex piece. The intensity heats up with fiery synthesizer and some really low bottom end. Will give your speakers a work out for sure.

The set ends with Emerson's tasty Moog work and the iconic "Lucky Man", played on the original Moog synthesizer used for recording it on ELP's self-titled debut album released in 1970.

It's great listening to two classic musicians making beautiful music together and having some fun in the process. For fans of ELP Live From Manticore Hall is a no brainer.

Track Listing:
1. From The Beginning
2. Introduction
3. I Talk To The Wind
4. Bitches Crystal
5. The Barbarian
6. Take A Pebble
7. Tarkus
8. C'est Le Vie
9. Pirates
10. Moog Solo/Lucky Man

Added: October 11th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist Official Site
Hits: 1896
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by