Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rocktronix: Magnificent Obsession

Rocktronix is a new project that includes Wayne Viar (drums, keys), Joseph Patrick Moore (bass, keys, loops) and Chris Blackwell (guitar). The album is called Magnificent Obsession and although I wouldn't say I'm obsessed with this album it really is a fine slice of well-produced rock fusion with slight flavourings of jazz and electronica. The band has also released a documentary DVD of the same name in which most of these songs appear.

The album is very well produced with an overall smooth sound. The playing is tasteful and quite melodic so the focus is not completely on virtuosic musicianship although this band is clearly not lacking in that department either as there is plenty of tasty instrumental interplay to satisfy that particular itch.

"Surrender" kicks things off with a pulsating percussive beat and tasty guitar throughout, both rhythmically and solo. Some of the solos have a fusiony sound and there is a very subtle electronic vibe as well. The title track has a more funky groove with slick guitar work and a latter-day Toto feel while "Samhain" has a much heavier rock sound with more excellent guitar work. "The Calling" is a little softer with prominent bass and more of that soaring lead guitar. "When I Become A Butterfly" features computerized vocals in the vein of Neil Young's Trans album with the music mixing elements of electronic and pop. I could almost imagine hearing this one on the radio if given half the chance. The heavier rock vibe returns with "Divide And Conquer" opening with Van Halen-esque guitar pyrotechnics before venturing into a chugging riff and more atmospheric shredding. Cool tune.

If you like music where the guitar is prominently featured, Magnificent Obsession should prove to be a worthy addition to your collection. This trio has pleasantly surprised this reviewer.

Track Listing:
1. Surrender (5:08)
2. Magnificent Obsession (4:25)
3. Samhain (4:39)
4. The Calling (4:07)
5. When I Become A Butterfly (3:41)
6. Divide And Conquer (2:40)
7. Hard Eight (3:49)
8. Jack In The Box (6:41)
9. Quicksand (4:00)
10. Full Circle (3:14)

Added: October 6th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1231
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by