Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Steel Prophet: Omniscient

Its been about a decade since we last heard from US power metal act Steel Prophet, but they've come back better than ever with this latest release for Cruz Del Sur Music, Omniscient. Basically a full blown sci-fi concept album written by guitarist Steve Kachinsky Blakmoor, Omniscient is housed inside a gorgeous digibook package, complete with full lyrics, story commentary, artwork, and band photos. It's a stunning package that perfectly complements the outstanding music contained on the CD. The rest of the band is rounded out by vocalist Rick Mythiasin, bassist Vince de Juan Dennis, guitarist Jon Paget, and drummer John Tarascio.

Steel Prophet play tight, heavy, melodic power metal, somewhat in the style of say Iced Earth, Sanctuary, or Nevermore. It's no nonsense, crushing heavy metal music, with guitars riffing non-stop, rhythms pummeling, and vocals soaring. "Trickery of the Scourge" and "When I Remake the World (A Key Flaw)" kick things off in fine fashion, two rampaging metal tracks that set the tone of the album, followed by the bruising, near thrash attack of "911", with Blakmoor & Paget tossing in a never ending supply of massive riffs and blazing solos over which Mythiasin soars & snarls. Powerful stuff. The manic speed metal of "Chariots of the Gods" gives way to the Iron Maiden influenced ripper "The Tree of Knowledge", and "Oleander Deux" sees a more melodic, progressive side of the band surface, complete with some amazing vocal layers. Other highlights include the crunchy "Aliens, Spaceships and Richard M. Nixon", the pure power metal headbanging fun of "Funeral for Art", and the super crunchy "Transformation Staircase", a real grinding number that will encourage you to get your air guitar out and bang thy head. Not sure how (or why) the band decided to throw in a cover of Queen's "Bohemian Rhapsody" amid all this science fiction chicanery, but it just doesn't seem to fit, despite how well done it is.

Overall, this is a very impressive package from Steep Prophet. You really need to make sure you get the digibook CD version so you can read the whole story behind the album, immerse yourself in the lyrics, and soak up the great artwork. Welcome back guys, and well done!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Trickery Of The Scourge
2. When I Remake The World (A Key Flaw)
3. 911
4. Chariots Of The Gods
5. The Tree Of Knowledge
6. 666 Is Everywhere (The Heavy Metal Blues)
7. Oleander Deux
8. Aliens, Spaceships And Richard M. Nixon
9. Through Time And Space
10. Funeral For Art
11. Call Of Katahdin
12. Transformation Staircase
13. Bohemian Rhapsody
14. 1984 (George Orwell Is Rolling In His Grave)

Added: October 6th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2074
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by