Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kotzen, Richie: Get Up

For a guy who's released instrumental guitar albums in genres from metal fusion - plus spent some time in both Poison and Mr. Big - Richie Kotzen plays it pretty straightforward on Get Up, his latest solo record. Kotzen wrote, played, sang and produced everything you hear here. And even though the album clocks in at a fast 40 minutes, each of these songs is a keeper. Leadoff track "Losin' My Mind" boasts some Lenny Kravitz-style riffs and vocals, "Remember" is a bluesy ballad, the soulful "Special" sounds like a mid-tempo Seventies tune and the title track is an all-out barnburner. Throughout, Kotzen invokes his inner classic rocker, resulting in an album that's simply a solid listen nothing more, nothing less. And when performed as effortlessly as the music on Get Up, that's good enough.

Track Listing:
1) Losin' My Mind (3:08)
2) Fantasy (2:40)
3) Remember (4:36)
4) Get Up (2:59)
5) So Cold (3:28)
6) Such A Shame (3:35)
7) Made For Tonight (3:41)
8) Still (3:31)
9) Never Be the Same (3:23)
10) Special (5:10)
11) Blame On Me (Bonus Track)

Added: September 7th 2004
Reviewer: Michael Popke
Related Link: Frontiers Records
Hits: 2417
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by