Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Vilpuu, Kalle: Silver Lining

Kalle Vilpuu is an Estonian guitar player who has been around for over thirty years and has been a central part of many bands from his native country. The sad part is this is the first I have heard his name and that is a real shame as his new album Silver Lining is truly excellent.

The core of the band is the aforementioned Vilpuu on guitars, keyboards and vocals along with Andrus Lillepea (drums) and Henno Kelp (bass). There are seven other musicians credited playing a variety of instruments such as flute, violin and flamenco guitar.

Silver Linings is a heavy-ish album filled with Vilpuu's wonderful guitar exploits. Heavy riffs, riveting solos and atmospheric fretwork are all part of the package. The music is quite progressive with an industrial edge at times as exemplified with the first track "Anomalies". An intro of blips and bleeps and a short guitar loop quickly leads into a heavy industrial beat forming a thick wall of sound accented with subtle keys. Tempo changes ensue giving way to a spacey section inundated with trippy effects, droning guitar and keys. It is a cool melding of progressive/space and industrial rock. "Unforgiven" begins with a shimmering blanket of keyboards before flute and an extra-long guitar solo form the meat of the tune. "Interno" is another great track with female vocals ala Floyd's "Great Gig In The Sky" and fuzzed out bottom end guitar rumblings. At times I was reminded of latter period Anathema. "In the Back of my Head" is another cool tune alternating between heavy riff led sections and more atmospheric parts with another excellent solo from Vilpuu. The heavy "The Aliens (Have Landed)" is a melding of electronica inspired rhythms and rapid fire industrial beats whereas "The Touch of Angel" touches on atmospheric/ambient rock. The female vocalizations and quirky effects make this an unforgettable listen.

Silver Lining is a superb album from a very talented musician. Impeccably played and produced with an abundance of absorbing melodies, even the most discerning fan of progressive music would do well to seek this out.

Track Listing:
1. Anomalies (6:27)
2. Unforgiven (3:47)
3. Interno (3:43)
4. Industrial No 4 (4:17)
5. In the Back of my Head (5:23)
6. The Aliens (Have Landed) (3:34)
7. Trappings (5:44)
8. The Touch of Angel (4:41)
9. Rosie (2:34)
10. Forgiven (3:06)
11. Silver Lining (4:12)

Added: October 6th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 3391
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by