Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rubenstein, Jason: New Metal From Old Boxes

Keyboardist Jason Rubenstein has been making music for about twenty years, although it has never been a full time job. He released his first album in 1996 and has recently put out his sixth album New Metal From Old Boxes after a ten year break from music. Rubenstein has gone through some hard career changes lately so what do you do when life throws you a curve? Well if you are a musician I suppose you would write new music, which is exactly what he did. In fact, Rubenstein took it a step further and decided to write a song a day for thirty days and New Metal From Old Boxes is the result. Cool title but what about the music?

Rubenstein plays everything himself; keyboards, synthesizers, samples, computers and programming. This is pretty heavy keyboard driven stuff as every track has hard driving moments but there are also more introspective, dreamier elements as well which makes for a nice balance. Some really cool keyboard riffs make up the bulk of the first two tracks, "The Contemplation Of The Cosmologer" and "Calculation And Walkway". Many of these songs tend to be a little dark and brooding like the progressive "The Set Up". Repeating keyboard lines, nifty piano notes in the lower end of the spectrum and a little guitar shred to give it a fusion element. Some of the piano motifs also veer into jazzier realms making this one of the more dynamic tracks. For more dark inspired prog "The Blow Off" is another highlight. Again, deliciously low keyboards and ascending synth lines with a sparkling crystal clear production is what you have. A nice Hammond B3 solo as well. "Unspeakable Highways" is another heavy affair with a darker NIN feel at times.

Rubenstein has created an impressive instrumental release that should hold true for fans of fusion and heavy instrumental keyboard led prog.

Track Listing:
1. The Contemplation Of The Cosmologer
2. Calculation And Walkaway
3. The Set Up
4. The Blow Off
5. Unspeakable Highways
6. A Burden Of Secrets
7. The Snowflake Defines The Weather
8. Frankenstein On The Red Line
9. The Steppes Of Sighs Part 1
10. The Steppes Of Sighs Part 2
11. New Metal From Old Boxes
12. The Barbarian

Added: September 17th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1325
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by