Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Traumhaus: Die andere Seite

German progressive rock band Traumhaus continued their unique sound with their sophomore effort Die andere Seite, released in 2010. This is the recently released remastered version on Progressive Promotion Records.

The band's line-up is Alexander Weyland (vocals, keyboards, loop programming), Tobias Hampl (electric and acoustic guitars, bass), Hans Jörg Schmitz (drums, effects, drum loops) and Jordan H. Gazall (bass).

Musically this band is excellent. The playing is top notch in all departments. The guitars and keyboards particularly shine throughout. Whether used for solos or providing sonic textures Traumhaus is starting to forge a pretty cool sound unique to themselves. The heavier guitars riffs give some parts a metallic edge which are often offset by softer touches of moody textural components. The solos are also well done and always fit the song well. The songs are finely crafted and well thought out and are long enough for the band to stretch their stuff but the playing never seems forced or out of place. I also think Weyland does a nice job on lead vocals as his laid back style seems to suit the songs well.

The first three songs are all over ten minutes long and each is worth the price of admission. "Die andere Seite Teil 1" includes plenty of crunchier riffs, soaring lead guitar and wonderful keyboard work. It's pretty catchy as well. "Hinaus" begins with heavier guitar and a pulsating keyboard line that returns throughout the song. The keyboards give a dominating performance here, whether it's a Mellotron, minimoog or Hammond, it is all good. "Kein Zurück" is a moodier piece enriched with colourful keyboard washes and moody guitar excursions. Again the solos are extremely well executed.

Die andere Seite should be ideally suited for fans of heavy symphonic or neo progressive rock. As long as you don't mind the German lyrics, this one is a no brainer.

Track Listing:
1. Die andere Seite Teil 1
2. Hinaus
3. Kein Zurück
4. Die andere Seite Teil 2
5. Zwiespalt
6. Bleibe hier
7. Die andere Seite Teil 3
Bonus Tracks:
8. Zur anderen Seite
9. The Secret

Added: September 15th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1664
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by