Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Intelligent Music Project II: My Kind O' Lovin'

Often the music of today is meaningless poppy drivel that offers little substance and value. This is not the case with composer/arranger/musician Milen Vrabevski. This is the second album under the Intelligent Music Project moniker, this time teaming up with John Lawton (Uriah Heep) and renowned drummer Simon Phillips and Joseph Williams of Toto fame.

My Kind O' Lovin' is a concept album of sorts, the main theme being how one should live and value life. At times the lyrics venture into 'cliché' territory but Vrabevski's intent is clear and he makes no bones about it. The message put forth is both positive and heartfelt.

The music is pretty straight forward AOR with plenty of nice melodies, strong vocal arrangements and solid musicianship. The first two tracks are a case in point. The album begins with the title track, a gentle acoustic based number featuring Lawton's rich and earthy lead vocals followed by "Friends", a mid-tempo melodic rock song with a soulful vocal arrangement. Other notables include the hard rocking blues of "No One Can Deny It" and the edgy "People On Fire" with its string synth intro and Floydy lead guitar before developing into a real fiery rocker. At times I hear a latter day Toto influence which shouldn't come as a surprise given the band members.

My Kind O' Lovin' doesn't reinvent the wheel but for fans of melodic rock you can be rest assured you will find something to like. A solid 3.5 stars it is.

Track Listing:
1. My Kind of Lovin'
2. Friends
3. No One Can Deny It
4. Get Into Real
5. Simple Game
6. Happiness
7. Things We Can't Do
8. Time To Move Along
9. Love Song
10. People On Fire
11. Step in Learning
12. Understand the Morning
13. Conclusion

Added: October 26th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 3068
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

» SoT Staff Roundtable Reviews:

Intelligent Music Project II: My Kind O' Lovin'
Posted by Pete Pardo, SoT Staff Writer on 2014-10-26 06:47:28
My Score:

My Kind O' Lovin', the second release of the Intelligent Music Project, really hits the mark when it comes to delivering catchy, hook laden AOR/melodic rock. Featuring former Uriah Heep/Lucifer's Friend belter John Lawton and Toto veterans Joseph Williams & Simon Phillips, plus a host of other musicians including producer & project mastermind Milien Vrabevski, My Kind O' Lovin' is an engaging album that pushes all the right buttons from start to finish. The vocal performances of Lawton & Williams are outstanding here, both singers showing that they still have plenty of fire left in the tank, Lawton blowing the roof off on the emotional "Simple Game" and Williams tearing the house down on the ultra memorable, Toto sounding "Friends". The harder rocking piece "Time to Move Along" is also a highlight, as crunchy guitars and Phillips' busy stick work provide the framework for a soaring Lawton vocal.

Though this album clearly hasn't reinvented the wheel, it's certainly a classy collection of melodic rock songs delivered with passion and fire, and a lot of love. I had only hoped that both Lawton & Williams would duet on a few tunes, but that didn't happen for some reason. Maybe next time.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by