Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Mechanical Organic: This Global Hive Part Two

Satanic rituals, demonic mind control and evil armies; all part of the ongoing concept in This Global Hive Part Two, the new album from Australian progressive metal band Mechanical Organic. This is the band's sixth release.

In the band are David Bellion (vocals, guitars, keyboards), Eddie Katz (keyboards), Conny Dee (guitars), Evan Harris (Bass, Chapman and NS stick) and Andrew Hurst (drums).

Given the subject matter this is dark stuff indeed and I really like what I'm hearing. Bands like Zero Hour, Queensryche, Dream Theater and Evergrey came to mind but let's be clear, this band is quite unique and does a good job of forging their own eclectic sound. The songs are inundated with heavy guitar riffs at times venturing into shred territory like in the darkly hued "Of Leprous Minds" or coloured with orchestral keyboard washes as in the album opening track "Show Me Oblivion". In "The Guiding Lie" a gentle acoustic guitar conveys a somber moody feel before the riffs get heavier giving the song a doomy edge. The best part about this disc is how the band somehow makes these edgy songs accessible and quite melodic. Often the mood is softened with slower tempos and a generous helping of keyboards giving the riffs an orchestral element. "Hate Remembers/Love Forgot" has a nice mixture of intense riffage and softer keyboard parts. My only complaint is the overuse of a talking narrative that detracts a little from the music in an otherwise stellar slice of moody progressive metal.

So there you have it. Mechanical Organic is definitely a band to watch for in the upcoming years. We will have to wait if the 'Global Hive' concept will be continued on their next release but one thing is certain, the musical journey should be richly rewarding for any fan of progressive metal.

Track Listing:
1. Show Me Oblivion (6:19)
2. The Guiding Lie (5:26)
3. Of Leprous Minds (4:09)
4. Hate Remembers/Love Forgot (6:48)
5. Empty Shell (5:10)
6. Through The Lens (4:18)
7. The Drifting Part (7:03)
8. An Architect's Farewell (4:39)
9. To Be King (6:30)

Added: September 9th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 1730
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by