Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Google Ads

Ion Vein: Ion Vein

It's been 11 years, but Chicago's underrated power metal act Ion Vein have finally released their follow-up to 2003's Reigning Memories, and first full-length with vocalist Scott Featherstone. Produced, recorded, and mixed by Neil Kernon, Ion Vein is a smoldering platter of classic sounding heavy metal, and includes all the six songs from from the IV v1.0 & IV v2.0 EP releases from 2011 and 2012 (remixed & remastered) plus six new songs. Along with Featherstone, the band features Chris Lotesto (guitar), Chuck White (drums), Brian Gordon (bass -studio), Rich Knight (live guitar), and Rob Such (live bass).

It's not hard to describe the music of Ion Vein other than to say it's classic US power metal. No dungeons & dragons here, no symphonic arrangements, just blistering, crunchy guitar riffs, powerful rhythms, strong vocals, and plenty of catchy melodies. For reference, the band is not far in scope from acts such as Nevermore, Savatage, Circle II Circle, or Brainstorm, so expect classy, powerful metal music all the way. Featherstone is a really good fit for the band, as he soars on such muscular tracks as "Face the Truth", "Seamless (A Transition of the Mind)", and the vibrant, metallic opener "Fools Parade". For pure headbanging fury, check out the crushing "Love/Hate", complete with some vicious riffing from Lotesto, as well as the ripping "Anger Inside", another tune with some well crafted riffs that also features a potent vocal from Featherstone. The more atmospheric "Alone" is one of the albums progressive tracks, as darker musical passages, complex rhythms, and some fine acoustic guitar textures combine for a varied listening experience. The presence of Kernon can really be felt on the wonderful "In the End", a metal tune that is just so crisp & crunchy, with a guitar sound to die for. It's trademark Kernon production values, and he's such as great fit for this band.

Let's hope that it's not such a long wait for Ion Vein's follow-up to this stellar self-titled release. For now though, we've got lots of time to spend with this barnburner of an album.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1 Fools Parade
2 Seamless (A Transition of the Mind)
3 Enough
4 This Is Me
5 Face the Truth
6 Love/Hate
7 Anger Inside
8 Take Me From This Dream
9 Alone
10 The Will of One
11 In the End
12 Twist of Fate

Added: September 7th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1100
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by