Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Accept: Blind Rage

Now three albums into the Mark Tornillo era of the band, German metal legends Accept show no signs of slowing down, and are continuing to release some of the strongest material of their career. Blood of the Nations and Stalingrad were both stellar releases that reinvigorated not only the band but also their fan base, and this latest Blind Rage continues that trend. Tornillo has fit in so well with this band, at times he can almost make you forget that a guy named Udo was ever in the mix. While perhaps not as top to bottom potent as Stalingrad, Blind Rage has a more varied attack, with plenty of blistering metal thumpers and a few melodic, yet heavy, power ballad numbers, ultimately it's still an Accept album through and through.

Once again produced, engineered, mixed and mastered by Andy Sneap, Blind Rage is a fantastic sounding heavy metal album, and with fantastic cover artwork and layout by Dan Goldsworthy, it's an instantly rewarding experience for your senses. Some of the more crunchy & punishing tracks, such as "Bloodbath Mastermind", "Final Journey", "Stampede", and "From the Ashes We Rise" contain excellent riffage courtesy of Wolf Hoffmann & Herman Frank, with Tornillo screaming over the top and Peter Baltes (bass) & Stefan Schwarzmann (drums) laying down those pounding rhythms. The mid-paced numbers are equally as impressive, with highlights being "The Curse", the engaging "Trail of Tears", the fist pumping "Dark Side of My Heart", and the slow, grinding "Fall of the Empire". However, my favorite tune, and one that's sure to strike a chord with any longtime metal fan, is the fun "Dying Breed", a real playful anthem that references all the great hard rock & metal bands who forged the path for everyone to follow, such as Black Sabbath, Judas Priest, Motorhead, Led Zeppelin, Deep Purple, AC/DC, Jimi Hendrix, Rainbow, and Saxon. With great riffs and a fist pumping, sing along chorus, it's a completely memorable number from the first listen and sure to be a concert favorite.

If you pick up the deluxe edition, it comes with an excellent live DVD from a concert in Chile from 2013. Featuring so many Accept classics old & new, with the band in fine form, it will be a welcome addition to the video collection of any metal fan. Overall Blind Rage is another absolute winner from Accept, as they continue to show why they are still one of the most powerful & consistent metal bands on the planet.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. "Stampede" 5:14
2. "Dying Breed" 5:21
3. "Dark Side of My Heart" 4:37
4. "Fall of the Empire" 5:45
5. "Trail of Tears" 4:08
6. "Wanna Be Free" 5:37
7. "200 Years" 4:30
8. "Bloodbath Mastermind" 5:59
9. "From the Ashes We Rise" 5:43
10. "The Curse" 6:28
11. "Final Journey" 5:02

Bonus DVD-Live in Chile 2013
1. "Intro"
2. "Hung, Drawn and Quartered"
3. "Hellfire"
4. "Restless and Wild"
5. "Losers and Winners"
6. "Stalingrad"
7. "Breaker"
8. "Bucket Full of Hate"
9. "Monsterman"
10. "Shadow Soldiers"
11. "Amamos la Vida"
12. "Guitar Solo Wolf"
13. "Neon Nights"
14. "Bulletproof"
15. "Aiming High"
16. "Princess of the Dawn"
17. "Up to the Limit"
18. "No Shelter"
19. "Pandemic"
20. "Fast as a Shark"
21. "Metal Heart"
22. "Teutonic Terror"
23. "Balls to the Wall"

Added: August 31st 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2680
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by