Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cannibal Corpse: A Skeletal Domain

That familiar, demented roar from George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher, the nimble, intricate bass work of Alex Webster, crushing, complex guitar riffery courtesy of the dynamic duo Pat O'Brien & Rob Barrett, and the whirlwind drumming of Paul Mazurkiewicz...yep, we've got another new release from perhaps the most well known death metal act of the last two decades, Cannibal Corpse. A Skeletal Domain is their latest collection of gore/horror soaked abominations for Metal Blade Records, and also happens to be their thirteenth studio release overall. Opting to move on from producer Erik Rutan this time around in favor of Mark Lewis (The Black Dahlia Murder, DevilDriver) at Audio Hammer Studios, the results are still an inferno of brutal, technical death metal that sounds great but pushes all the right extreme buttons.

As with any Cannibal Corpse album, this one busts right out of the gate with the killer "High Velocity Impact Spatter" and does not let up from there. 'Fire up the chainsaw' and revel in the crushing, complex sounds of "Kill or Become", a truly monstrous tune that sees Fisher spewing his violent attack over churning riffs and blasting rhythms, while the title track hammers you from the start with Mazurkiewicz' intense drumming and a non-stop cavalcade of brutal riffs. "The Murderer's Pact" is sure to get blood pressure levels to the max within the mosh pit if the band chooses to unleash this song in a live setting, as will the absolutely decimating "Icepick Lobotomy", a tune that has some of the heaviest riffs on the album to go along with Webster's jaw dropping bass grooves. The band hit early Slayer intensity on the rampaging "Bloodstained Cement", but dial back the speed for the grinding crusher "Vector Of Cruelty". Throughout the band constantly mix up the pace & tempo from song to song, and while they are not necessarily re-writing the death metal playbook here (or their own for that matter) the familiar feel to A Skeletal Domain will be more than welcome to any fan.

In the end, that's what most followers of the mighty Cannibal Corpse come to expect from this band; brutal & technical death metal, well produced, and containing some of the most inventive, gory lyrics in the genre. Well, they'e delivered another winner yet again with all these elements, so get ready to feast on this collection of delicious bloody entrails & smashed brain matter.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. High Velocity Impact Spatter
2. Sadistic Embodiment
3. Kill Or Become
4. A Skeletal Domain
5. Headlong Into Carnage
6. The Murderer's Pact
7. Funeral Cremation
8. Icepick Lobotomy
9. Vector Of Cruelty
10. Bloodstained Cement
11. Asphyxiate To Resuscitate
12. Hollowed Bodies

Added: August 31st 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 3217
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by