Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sepultura And Les Tambours du Bronx: Metal Veins Alive At Rock In Rio

Sepultura the Brazilian metal titans are celebrating thirty years and releasing the live recording Metal Veins Alive At Rock In Rio. You may be wondering why the release is by titled "Sepultura And Les Tambours du Bronx", well Les Tambours du Bronx is a French industrial percussion group "notorious for beating 225-litre barrels with beech wood bats or even axe handles". They performed with Sepulutra onstage at at Rock In Rio in 2013 where this performance was recorded. This release is available to order in CD or DVD and Blu Ray formats with added content. I was surprised by the absence of songs from their last album The Mediator Between Head And Hands Must Be The Heart which I found to be very agreeable.

Featuring some of Sepultura's most popular songs and an energetic cover of the Prodigy track "Firestarter". Sepulutra's sound has always had a healthy drum presence and are no strangers to extra percussion so Les Tambours du Bronx do fit in quite effectively alongside Sepultura's own kick arse drummer. As you soon hear on the introductory instrumental track "Kaiowas" off the album Chaos A.D. which is followed by the later track "Spectrum". "Refuse/Resisit" is the first of their classics to be given the industrial groups added treatment which puts a different spin on the original version. I did find on a song like "Sepulnation" that in some ways the extra percussion creates such a "busy" sound at times with so much happening, and could have maybe worked better when the vocals weren't present. In the end it's a case of some tracks do come out sounding better suited than others, but overall it's a very cool idea that works for the most part and fans should definitely give this release a shot.

Metal Veins Alive At Rock In Rio is a fun album with Sepultura sounding so intense. Though I do feel this performance will be that much more enjoyable on DVD or especially Blu Ray with the visuals taking it to another level, when being able to view the two acts together.

Track Listing
1. Kaiowas
2. Spectrum
3. Refuse/Resist
4. Sepulnation
5. Delirium
6. Fever
7. We've Lost You
8. Firestarter (Prodigy Cover)
9. Requiem
10. Structure Violence
11. Territory
12. Big Hands
13. Roots Bloody Roots

Added: August 16th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band website
Hits: 1467
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by