Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Shakra: 33-The Best of Shakra

The Swiss Hard Rock band, Shakra, has released a celebration 2-CD set of their best tracks from their 9 album history entitled 33-The Best of Shakra (AFM Records). This twin Digi-pak collection features 33 Shakra songs that include 3 new tracks and 2 remixes and highlights the career, thus far, of this band formed in the late 90's.

From their self titled debut Shakra in 1997 to their most recent studio release Powerplay in 2013, which managed to garner the band their 1st #1 charting album in their homeland of Switzerland, Shakra has continued to endure and release album after album, despite vocalist shake ups from original singer Pete Wiedmer to Mark Fox to current vocalist since 2009, John Prakesh. Fans have continued to support the band and with this 2 disc, 'Thank You' to them, this Melodic Hard Rock outfit shines on tracks like "Yesterday's Gone", "Dream of Mankind" and "Stronger Than Ever".

With a history of 17 years underneath them, the future indeed seems bright for this Swiss band with the catchy hooks and dirty guitar riffs. This release is a lot of bang for your hard earned buck, with the snazzy Digi-pak format and 33 songs! You can't beat the value!! Readers unfamiliar with the band will find the reference of the music sounding somewhere within the realm of bands like Pink Cream 69 or Pretty Maids a good help. Shakra is stepping into the next chapter of their career and with doing that they have released a really nice 33 track retrospective of what they have accomplished up to this marker in time. It will be interesting to see what the future holds for these guys.


  1. Back On Track
  2. Live For Today
  3. The Beacon
  4. For The Rest Of My Days
  5. Stronger Than Ever
  6. Yesterday's Gone
  7. Life Is Now
  8. Dream Of Mankind
  9. Save You From Yourself
  10. When I See You
  11. B True B You
  12. Dear Enemy
  13. Ashes To Ashes
  14. Why
  15. The Journey
  16. Playing With Fire
  17. Love Will Find A Way


  1. The One
  2. Inferno
  3. Walk On Water
  4. Chains Of Temptation
  5. Take Me Now
  6. Now Or Never
  7. Rising High
  8. I Will Be There
  9. Too Good For Me
  10. Trapped
  11. Why Don't You Call Me
  12. She's My Pride
  13. Stranger
  14. Nothing To Lose
  15. Who's Got The Rhythm
  16. Hands On The Trigger

Added: August 13th 2014
Reviewer: Butch Jones
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1690
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by