Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tinkicker: The Cup of the Lord and the Wine of Demons

Tinkicker is a heavy rock/metal band hailing from Denmark. The band formed in 2006 and have three albums to their credit, their latest being The Cup of the Lord and the Wine of Demons. I have heard all three discs, each one reviewed on this site, and have been impressed with each successive listen.

The band is Klaus Bastian (vocals), Soren Lindberg (guitar), Corben Hedstrøm (bass), Klaus Herfort (drums) and Kristian Møller (guitar).

The music is definitely geared towards guitar lovers as the riffs come fast and heavy but this is more than your standard metal/hard rock album. There is a symphonic element as well and the music can become quite dramatic. A prime example is "Lucid Dreams" where big sounding guitar chords take on an orchestral nature which lead way to mellower parts with only vocals and softer guitar. It is these dramatic shifts I find so compelling. This is also the case with "Last of the Bohemians" where the slow dirge-like riffs are almost Black Sabbath-like. In the addictive "Confession of a Clown" the chugging riffs take me back in time to the '70s while "A Beautiful Day" has an early Rush vibe and perhaps a little Uriah Heep as well. With the catchy "Chasing Rainbows" the band could almost have a hit on their hands as it's that earworm inducing.

One of the album's most adventurous moments has to be the ten minute "The Mailman's Last Route". Galloping Maiden-like riffs, symphonic treatments and Bastian's catchy lead vocals is what you'll hear. The mellower sections give the heavier parts that much more drama and depth. Clearly this is one the band's best songs.

Tinkicker may be more rock than prog but there is nothing wrong with that. Their latest album might just appeal to a wider rock audience if given half the chance. Nice riffs, catchy hooks and fine vocals make The Cup of the Lord and the Wine of Demons a worthy addition to any classic rock/prog collection.

Track Listing:
1. Good Evening
2. Confession of a Clown (Spin the Wheel)
3. Lucid Dreams
4. The Boy Who Found God
5. Which Box is Yours
6. A Beautiful Day
7. Intermission I
8. St. John
9. Last of the Bohemians
10. Chasing Rainbows
11. Intermission II
12. The Mailman's Last Route
13. Same Old Different Song
14. Flight of the Moose
15. Playlist in the Sky
16. Farewell

Added: August 5th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2292
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by