Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Druckfarben: Second Sound

Canadian band Druckfarben has roots dating back to the mid '80s but the band did not actually form until 2007. They started out playing classic prog covers and in 2011 released their self-titled debut. Their sophomore effort Second Sound was released this year.

These are professional musicians and it shows in the playing as the musicianship is stellar. The band members are Phil Naro (vocals, acoustic guitar), Ed Bernard (guitars, vocals, violins, violas, mandolins, banjo, dobro), William Hare (piano, organ, synthesizers), Peter Murray (bass, vocals) and Troy Feener (drums, percussion).

The album begins with the excellent "An Answer Dreaming". Flourishes of keyboards, synth solos, and some nice guitar crunch remind me of classic Yes. The vocals of Naro have an Anderson vibe, especially when they begin to soar. This is first rate symphonic progressive rock. The upbeat "In Disbelief" is next beginning with Egyptian tinged synthesizer and those Jon Anderson-like lead vocals. The uplifting vibe is carried through the music and the lyrics. "Dandelion" is another upbeat rocker with big organ riffs and excellent lead and harmony vocals, again, reminding of Yes, especially in the keyboard/vocal department. The keyboard and guitar solos are tasty throughout and there are sufficient changes of pace to keep things highly interesting. Suffice to say there are no bad tracks here. The vocal arrangements in "Long Walk Down" and "Another Day" are quite stunning and had me thinking of Moon Safari. The album ends with the epic title track. It's a roller coaster ride of varying changes and themes, great melodies and exceptional musicianship.

Listening to Second Sound it is clear where the band's passion lies. If the classic sounds of '70s greats like Yes, ELP and Gentle Giant float your boat you should really dig Second Sound. Great stuff indeed!

Track Listing:
1. An Answer Dreaming
2. In Disbelief
3. Dandelion
4. Liberated Dream
5. Long Walk Down
6. Surrounds Me
7. Another Day
8. Second Sound

Added: August 5th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2006
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by