Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Edge of Haze: Illumine

Gothic metal, doom, and a smattering of prog collide on the sophomore release from Finland's Edge of Haze, titled Illumine. The band, Markus Hentunen (Lead Vocals, Guitars), Eeero Maijala (Bass, Growled Vocals, Guitars), Janne Mieskonen (Drums), Lenno Linjama (Guitars), and Akseli Savola (Keyboards), have a very pleasing sound, which relies on thick, chugging riffs, airy keyboards, melodic vocals, and the occasional growl, falling somewhere in the spectrum of Katatonia, Swallow the Sun, and at times a heavier Anathema. Much of the material on display here is catchy, memorable, and just heavy enough, with tracks like "The Pyre", "Drawn", "Crushed", and "Into the Red Sun" really standing out thanks to some inventive riffing and the excellent lead vocals of Hentunen. "Unlearn" is another fine song, with some fierce death metal growls courtesy of Maijala and nimble keyboard solos from Savola. "Rainfall" is one of the longest tracks here, and with its somber tone and soaring harmonies, should easily appeal to fans of the great Anathema.

This is a really good album from a young band that I can easily see one of the major metal labels scooping up in the very near future.

Track Listing

  1. Drawn
  2. The Pyre
  3. Urban Reverie
  4. Crushed
  5. 3:30 A.M.
  6. Into The Red Sun
  7. Unlearn
  8. A Storm At The River
  9. Rainfall
  10. The Newfound Horizon

Added: August 3rd 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1679
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by