Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Abysmal Lord: Storms of Unholy Black Mass (12" MLP)

Here we have the debut EP on Hells Headbangers from the Louisiana black/death metal horde Abysmal Lord. Roughly 26 minutes long, this 5 song set pulls together some filthy, grimy, dirty arrangements that bridge the gap between early Slayer, the swamp laden black metal of Goatwhore, the punk infused speed metal of Motorhead, as well as some of the crustiest grind bands you can think of. It's not pretty, and hell, at times it's not even that enjoyable, but there is a certain sense of reckless abandon on a track like "Gnashing of Teeth", with its booming bass riffs and 'broken glass in throat' vocals, and the old school mentality of "Angels of Persecution" sort of brings to mind vintage Venom, Hellhammer, and Celtic Frost. "Revelation" is just a blur of speed, and with the really raw production values, it doesn't get more underground sounding than this. For the more mainstream metal listener, I'd say proceed with caution, but for those who regularly seek out sounds from the depths of the abyss, this one might be worth investigating.

Track Listing
1) Terrorist Dawn (Introwehrmacht)
2) Gnashing of Teeth
3) Angels of Persecution
4) Storms View
5) Revelation

Added: July 31st 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1514
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by