Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Unisonic: Light Of Dawn

They're back with a second album, that is Unisonic one of the most promising hard rock/metal supergroups in recent times just take a look at that line-up. Featuring former Helloween band mates vocalist and co-founder Michael Kiske and vocalist/guitarist and all round power metal legend Kai Hansen (Gamma Ray) who joined the band after they were formed. Along with guitarist Mandy Meyer (Asia, Gotthard and Krokus), Dennis Ward on the bass which it's so nice to hear plenty of on this album and drummer Kosta Zafiriou ( both Pink Cream 69).

I'll admit to being someone who would never pass up the opportunity to hear Michael Kiske performing with a rock or metal group as my all time favourite vocalist, and his voice still hits the spot on Light Of Dawn. I was puzzled with the order of the track listing, the version I received is in a different order to that below which seems to be the official version or is it? Why I brought this up is it I was thinking that a motivating power metal tune like "Your Time Has Come" would be better placed earlier on only to find it actually isn't track ten after all. So I changed the running order to reflect this and what a positive difference it made including to my rating. I gave their self titled debut of 2012 another spin to get a refresher and while stylistically there are similarities with melodic hard rock and metal incorporated I wouldn't say that Light Of Dawn surpasses that album, Light Of Dawn is simply another immensely enjoyable Unisonic release.

I am happy to report that Kiske's vocals are soaring once again on "Your Time Has Come" inspiring thoughts of those wonderful Helloween releases he appeared on as does "Find Shelter". Rocking out with the very cool "Exceptional" then we are treated to that stellar heavy grooving power metal of "For The Kingdom" with those smoking guitar solos it's quite the package. "Not Gonna Take Anymore" serves up more for admirers of gripping guitar work which Light Of Dawn isn't short on, and it's another impressive song. Those kick drums are flowing once again on "Find Shelter" another enthralling upbeat metal song. "When The Deed Is Done" is mid paced magic, that music coupled to the mesmerising vocals of Michael Kiske has me hooked. "Throne Of The Dawn" is somewhat deceiving, starting out like we are in for a slow potent number, it soon becomes another vibrant heavy rock tune. "You And I" maybe Light Of Dawn's lightest track but this song still has a powerful feel, with the spotlight on Michael Kiske who doesn't disappoint.

Silent Force gave us a fine new melodic album earlier this year and Unisonic's latest Light Of Dawn is yet another standout release.

Track Listing
1. Venite 2.0
2. Your Time Has Come
3. Exceptional
4. For The Kingdom
5. Not Gonna Take Anymore
6. Night Of The Long Knives
7. Find Shelter
8. Blood
9. When The Deed Is Done
10. Throne Of The Dawn
11. Manhunter
12. You And I

Added: July 26th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4540
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Unisonic: Light Of Dawn
Posted by Phil. Alex. H. on 2014-09-13 08:20:06
My Score:

"Featuring former Helloween band mates vocalist and co-founder Michael Kiske and vocalist/guitarist and all round power metal legend Kai Hansen (Gamma Ray) who joined the band after they were formed"

Kai Hansen founded Helloween, Kiske joined later.

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by