Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Rage: The Soundchaser Archives

As a long time follower of the metal band Rage I couldn't let this new release pass by as I was very intrigued by the contents. Far more interesting than a "best of" release The Soundchaser Archives celebrates Rage's 30th anniversary, and with an impressive and vast collection of releases the German group have now put together a double CD/DVD including thirty tracks of rarities and alternate versions. Additionally Rage have included a DVD that features a live performance of the Lingua Mortis Orchestra at the Masters Of Rock Festival with songs taken from last years Lingua Mortis Orchestra release and Rage tracks. For those who don't know the Lingua Mortis Orchestra, this is the combination of the members of Rage, orchestras and other vocalists basically resulting in some of the catchiest and impressively performed orchestral metal you will hear.

The Soundchaser Archives begins with "Anybody Home?" a new demo track with that powerful polished Rage sound and their groove laden metal this one sounds mighty fine, and may well be destined for their next album."The Speed Of Sound" on disc two is the other new track and that's it for recent material as The Soundchaser Archives goes back in time. Which it does as far as 1984 and 85 when Rage went under the name of Avenger and the tracks "Assorted By Satan" and "Down To The Bone", and gives one an idea of how much Rage have changed since that time and found their own sound.

The album doesn't follow any pattern so you are constantly switching back and forth between the years, the demo tracks range in quality as expected and not everyone is a keeper. But given the generous quantity of songs you find those that are and the DVD contents are extra enticing. The Soundchaser Archives is really worth considering, and is no doubt more suited to longtime fans than those new to the band who are yet to hear Rage's great selection of studio albums.

Track Listing
1. Anybody Home?
2. Mystery Trip
3. In Union
4. Long Hard Road
5. Full Moon
6. Nevermore
7. French Bourrée
8. A Perfect Day
9. Enough Is Enough
10. Here Comes The Night
11. Spiritual Awakening
12. Lost In The Void
13. The Missing Link
14. Another Kind Of Madness
15. Down To The Bone

1. The Speed Of Sound
2. Darkness Turns To Light
3. Death Is Alive
4. Gentle Murders
5. From The Cradle To The Grave
6. Refuge
7. Fugue No. 5
8. Last Goodbye
9. Dirty Wings
10. The Pit And The Pendulum
11. Waterfalls
12. Heads Off
13. Assorted By Satan
14. Shame On You
15. Soundchaser

Live at Masters Of Rock Festival 2013
Interview and Bonus videos

Added: July 18th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2795
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by