Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Tarja Turunen and Mike Terrana: Beauty And The Beat

In 2011 drummer Mike Terrana known for his work with Rage, Artension, Axle Rud Peli, Yngwie Malmsteen and so many others released Sinfonica an album incorporating his playing into classical pieces. In recent times Terrana has also remained the drummer for original Nightwish vocalist now solo artist Tarja Turunen who is no stranger to this style of music being classically trained herself, and the two took the concept further and embarked on a successful tour. Not their usual style of band as Turunen and Terrana are backed by a considerable orchestra plus a choir, though this isn't an orchestral rock/metal recording in fact there's none of that here, the heaviest component is Terrana's drumming.

Beauty And The Beat comprises of two CDs for this live release with songs including classical compositions plus tracks from Tarja, Queen and a Led Zeppelin. The first CD alternates tracks between the beauty and the beat as they either feature Turunen's stunning operatic vocals, or the orchestra performing classical pieces of famous composers such as Bach's "Concert For Violin & Oboe" and Mozart "Eine kleine Nachtmusik" incorporated with Terrana's dynamic style which is cleverly done. The second CD includes Turunen's originals and covers, Terrana gets the vocals duties on Sinatra's "Fly Me To The Moon". A Zeppelin medley is one of the inclusions being part "Kashmir", "The Immigrant Song", and "Stairway to Heaven" and despite the guitar being absent it's a solid performance of these classic tracks.

I'm a fan of both artists and the performances on here are impressive though Beauty And The Beat really isn't the kind of release I'd regularly return to, so while others will relish this recording I'll be sticking to their regular programming.

Track Listing
CD 1
1. Concert For Violin & Oboe (Bach)
2. Blute Nur (Bach)
3. Zueignung – Op. 10, No. 1 (Strauss)
4. Barber of Seville (Rossini)
5. New World Symphony (Dvorák)
6. Song To The Moon (Dvorák)
7. Vilja Lied (Lehár)
8. O mio babbino caro (Puccini)
9. Can-can (Offenbach)
10. I Feel Pretty (Leonard Bernstein)
11. William Tell Overture (Rossini)
12. Mein Herr Marquis (Strauss)
13. Eine kleine Nachtmusik (Mozart)

CD 2
1. You Take My Breath Away (Queen)
2. The Reign (Tarja)
3. Witch-hunt (Tarja)
4. Led Zeppelin Medley
5. Swanheart (Nightwish)
6. Fly Me To The Moon (Frank Sinatra)
7. Into The Sun (Tarja)
8. I Walk Alone (Tarja)

Added: July 18th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 2422
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by