Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Memories of a Dead Man: Ashes of Joy

France's Memories of a Dead Man have apparently, " been seeking a perfect and genuine balance between a melancholic, emotive atmosphere and a crushing, oppressive heaviness since their inception in 2006," and their people are confident that, " the new album Ashes Of Joy surely represents their finest and most accomplished effort in this regard. The album's title is nothing if not a total oxymoron given that there is precious little joy on offer – just look at the titles below; "Touched with Pensiveness", "Going Out with the Whore's Saliva" or "Erase My Eyes", none of these exactly suggest that Weird Al's going to turn up and create a barrel of laughs does it. However, when the band hit a groove as on "Touched with Pensiveness" with haunting female backing there is something actually quite uplifting about Memories of a Dead Man's tortured, evocative, oft-meandering brand of progressive metal.

Track Listing:
1. Prelude (Solemn Requiem)
2. Aurora
3. The Fall of DoG
4. Maelstrom Involution
5. Touched with Pensiveness
6. Wounded Knee
7. From Mud to Heaven
8. La Nausée
9. Draft of the Second
10. Going Out with the Whore's Saliva
11. Erase My Eyes
12. The Swan's March

Added: July 4th 2014
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1299
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by