Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Autumn Whispers: Cry of Dereliction I

I mentioned an interest in wanting to hear and review Autumn Whisper's Cry of Dereliction I, in my review of the second part of the series, and Tirill Mohn took me up on the offer and sent the first disc straight away.

Autumn Whispers describes their sound as "Poetic rock with progressive and classical elements, based on enigmatic poetry". The Norwegian based band includes a boat load of talent including core members: Dino Steffens, on acoustic guitar, and vocals; Tirill Mohn, on violin, vocals, nylon string guitar, and Glockenspiel; and Liew Ceng Teng, on keyboards. The rest of the main band includes: Theodoros Kouelis, who plays bass guitar; Nils Einar Vinjor, who plays electric and acoustic guitar; and Vangelis Kalamaras, who plays drums. Autumn Whispers is often joined by other talented musicians, and for this debut album in the series there is no exception. Joining the band on Part I is: Nick Jones, on drums; Sigrun Eng, on cello; and Aleksander Koefoed, on bass guitar.

Cry of Dereliction I is full of wonderful autumnal acoustic music set to deep emotional and enigmatic poetry as stated earlier. The way they use the chosen poetry along with the deep forest, wood fired setting of their music, just thoroughly immerses you in the spirit of the season. Their music is both original and completely fulfilling to anyone whose favorite time of the year is autumn.

The musical influences are too many to name here, but Autumn Whispers provide their own innovative sound on every track they perform. At one moment you hear King Crimson at others Camel, and still others, your favorite band of the season. My favorite track was of course, "The Dreamer", but every song on the album is full of spirit and depth.

This music is perfect in or out of season. You can relax quietly to this music and enjoy it any time of the year. It is a favorite of mine with coffee out on the porch in the morning in the spring and summer.

Give it a try and feel at peace as you listen to soft acoustic music providing a warm and comforting experience.

Track Listing:

01. The Awakening/Streaming Sunbeams (Music: Dino Steffens)
02. Julia (Music/Words: Dino Steffens)
03. The Lily (Music: Dino Steffens / Words: William Blake)
04. The Garden of Love (Music: Dino Steffens / Words: William Blake)
05. Out of the Nest (Music/Words: Dino Steffens)
06. Candlelight (Music/Words: Dino Steffens)
07. Cry of Dereliction Pt.1 (Music/Words: Dino Steffens)
08. A Rose (Music/Words: Dino Steffens)
09. Undying Love (Music: Dino Steffens)
10. The Dreamer (Music/Words: Dino Steffens)

Added: July 2nd 2014
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 1703
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by