Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Profetus: As All Seasons Die

As All Seasons Die, the latest from Finnish funeral doom act Profetus, probably wasn't meant to be the soundtrack to your next family gathering. In fact, if you are at all looking to supply some fun music to your next event, no matter what that event might be, As All Seasons Die certainly won't be it. This is depressing, agonizing doom, Profetus preferring to take the listener on a painful, cold journey through Scandinavian woods, graveyards, and anywhere dark & morose. Slow, ponderous riffs, spooky keyboards, crashing drums, and low, moaning growls make up the arrangements on all these four tracks, with "A Reverie (Midsummer's Dying)" perhaps being the ultimate death march of the lot, save or the extended 15-minute wrist slasher "The Dire Womb of Winter", which is one of the most excruciating slices of funeral doom I've heard this year. This is one of those albums that I just can't really recommend other than to those who just love funeral doom, and for those fans, dig in, as this CD is very well done, despite the fact that it's just so damn depressing.

Track Listing
1) The Rebirth of Sorrow
2) A Reverie (Midsummer's Dying)
3) Dead Are Our Leaves of Autumn
4) The Dire Womb of Winter

Added: June 25th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1601
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by