Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Talc: Talc

Talc are a Swiss Progressive, Fusion Rock trio not frightened to take ideas and run, bound and generally frolic madly with them. Formed in 2009 from the ashes of Indie Pop outfit Fauve, Talc have slowly crafted their sound across the intervening years, recording a demo and having a track included on the Hidden Treasures Of Underground Music, Vol. 2 various artists compilation before releasing this, their self titled debut, earlier this year.

So do these frolicsome expulsions hold enough to mark out Talc as a soothing salve of goodness? In general yes they do, for while many of the ideas and themes expounded here rely on Prog, Fusion and Jazz masters of days gone by, they do so with a bite and verve that makes them worthy of more than a passing glance. "Back To Saskatchewan" sets the stall out, squealing guitars initially shocking through their intensity, a powering beat driving forcefully. Yet there's subtlety and guile here too, an ability to take the foot right off the gas and coast on gentle strums and hi-hat clicks revealing many sides to the Talc sound within just over four minutes of encountering it. From there Talc's ability to revolve and evolve through sounds and attacks holds the interest, while repeat listens to "Poison Heavy" (a little like a less exuberant Joe Satriani), the almost, but not quite Prog Metal of "Parabellum" or the funky relaxedness of "Kill Agent Ryan", reveals a whole host of nuances not initially picked out.

The lack of a vocalist merely reinforces the attention holding guitar splashes and stabs from Antonin Wiser (who also provides keys and electronics) which are flash without being garish, while drummer, percussionist, synther, electronic wielding "field recorder" (the latter of which offers some interesting background textures, "Over The Sea" being a fine example) Vincent Verselle has a keen knack for knowing when to drive the song on, or when to willingly take the back seat. Bassist of six strings Herve Baumgartner holds everything together, roaming the frets, yet guarding the foundations with a solidity this varied bunch of sounds certainly requires.

It's too early to suggest that Talc are headed for big things do instrumental trios ever qualify for things of bigness these days? however if they continue to grow and evolve while retaining the energy, focus, lightness of touch and variety revelled in here, then we may be talking about them for quite some time to come.

Track Listing
1. Back To Saskatchewan
2. Poison Heavy
3. Helical Gear
4. Parabellum
5. Kill Agent Ryan
6. Over The Sea
7. Morgen
8. Play/Pause
9. Steel Dreams
10. Machado
11. Trampoline
12. Kolybelnaya

Added: June 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Talc online
Hits: 2301
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by