Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Aborted: The Necrotic Manifesto

There's just always been something about the music of Aborted that, despite the brutal & technical nature of it, just seems so damn catchy and appealing. That is indeed the case once again here on their latest platter for Century Media, The Necrotic Manifesto. Their previous release The Global Flatline saw the Belgian act take some serious steps forward in terms of production techniques and tighter songwriting, and with legendary producer Jacob Hansen once again at the helm, the results are no less staggering. With 14 tracks on The Necrotic Manifesto, there's a lot of material, but with Aborted's penchant for including grind into their pummeling sound, you can expect some speedy slabs of brutal grindcore/technical death metal to be found among the wreckage. Some of the highlights include the devastatingly crushing "An Enumeration of Cadavers", the catchy death metal attack of "The Davidian Deceit", the more straight forward, riff heavy "Coffin Upon Coffin", and the raging, technical frenzy that is "Sade & Libertine Lunacy". Vocalist Sven De Caluwe is like a man possessed throughout, fluctuating between growls, grunts, screams, and bellows in each song, making for a schizophrenic listening experience that keeps you on your toes at all times. The band saves the best for last in the form of "Cenobites", one of the longer tracks but one that includes some of its heaviest riffs, most complex guitar & drum passages, and more maniacal vocalizations from De Caluwe.

Though it will certainly be way too brutal for metal fans with more melodic or mainstream tastes, The Necrotic Manifesto is a must hear for anyone who favors the extreme side of the genre.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Six Feet of Foreplay
2. The Extirpation Agenda
3. Necrotic Manifesto
4. An Enumeration of Cadavers
5. Your Entitlement Means Nothing
6. The Davidian Deceit
7. Coffin Upon Coffin
8. Chronicles of Detruncation
9. Sade & Libertine Lunacy
10. Die Verzweiflung
11. Excremental Veracity
12. Purity of Perversion
13. Of Dead Skin & Decay
14. Cenobites

Added: June 15th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 2476
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by