Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Nunslaughter: Angelic Dread

Not all of my friends understand extreme music's fascination with bombastóor with Christianity. I've often come to the defense of both. Contrary to what some people say, the two aren't mutually exclusive. Plenty of believing people like heavy metal. Many of the objections to metal are easy to resolve once one understands the basic conventions and expectations of the genre. Still, bands like Nunslaughter don't particularly help with the overall problem. I mean, just look at the track listing hereómost of the songs are pointed strikes against Christianity, just the stuff that gets cultural watchdog's hearts pounding. The lyrics are no help, either. Still, a band like Nunslaughter isn't trying to be subtle in its attempts to offend. Nope, this is a band committed to getting right up in everyone's faces.

Before anyone thinks I'm just going to opine about heavy metal and culture wars, don't worry. I just like to remind people that extreme music is often deliberately offensive and that it mostly boils down to challenging convention or upsetting the norm. In the end, Angelic Dread is an album, not a manifesto.

I promised I wouldn't go on about this. And so: here's Nunslaughter's first album in seven years. It's exactly what one expects from this band, no more, no less. This release includes a bonus second disc of tracks previously available only on vinyl. For many listeners, then, this is 31 new tracks, not a small thing. As for the music, it's fast and furious, extreme and offensive. The music pushes against the listener with relentless speed and constant aggression. The band calls it "Devil Metal" (because of course they do) but I call it dirty thrash. On the whole, it sounds pretty good. Anyone who likes the raw energy of punk-infused thrash should enjoy this release. There are even a few campy moments. "The Lycanthrope," for example, is a werewolf song that has plenty of obligatory howls. "Ouija" also had its fair share of hilarious sound effects. Still, the band plays it pretty straight, enjoying the horror-inspired mood from note to note.

Track Listing:

Disc #1
1. Angelic Dread
2. Looking into the Abyss
3. Twisted Spirit
4. Crush the Guff
5. Inner Beast
6. The Lycanthrope
7. Blood Drinker
8. God
9. Doomtown
10. Don't Mourn for Me
11. Infested
12. Coffins and Crosses
13. Three Nails, One Liar
14. Death Beyond the Gallows
15. One Bad Bitch

Disc #2
16. Emperor in Hell
17. God Has Lied
18. The Bog People
19. Shadow World
20. Healing the Possessed
21. It is I
22. Phantom
23. In the Graveyard
24. Black Horn of the Ram
25. Ouija
26. Atheist Ways
27. Cerebus
28. Sickened by the Sight of Christ
29. Driving Out the Demons
30. Midnight Mass
31. Deathlehem

Added: May 22nd 2014
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Facebook Page
Hits: 1648
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by