Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Powerwolf: The History of Heresy (2004 2008)

Metal Blade Records have gone all out to try to ensure that fans of the mighty Powerwolf get value for money from this compilation of the band's early material. The package in a box set containing:

Special sized hardcover box with embossment, faint laminated.

112-page hardcover book with liner notes, retrospective, tour and studio reports, all written by the band members. Loads of previously unpublished photos

Three cover sleeves

Lupus Dei CD including five live bonustracks

Return In Blood Red CD including three live bonus tracks

The Wacken Worship bonus DVD

Five photo cards with info on each band member

Clearly there's loads of stuff for the rabid fan boys out there and clearly, particularly in continental Europe there are quite a few as their last album topped the German charts. There's as much of the wolf here as any sane person could handle in one setting and it is a fabulous introduction to a band who could well be about to break out into popular consciousness (especially if they bothered to tour the UK.) Since getting my mitts on this one I have been incessantly listening to the studio and live versions of "Kiss of the Cobra King" but there are other tremendous gothic power metal winners all over the shop including a nice smattering of live versions of their other best tunes ("We Take It from the Living", "Prayer in the Dark", and "Saturday Satan" since you ask.) The whole package seems to be nicely priced as well, certainly in the UK, so there's really no excuse not to run with the pack.

Track Listing:

  1. Mr Sinister
  2. We Came to Take Your Souls
  3. Kiss of the Cobra King
  4. Black Mass Hysteria
  5. Demons & Diamonds
  6. Montecore
  7. The Evil Made Me Do It
  8. Lucifer in Starlight
  9. Son of the Morning Star
  10. Mr Sinister (Live)
  11. We Came to Take Your Souls (Live)
  12. Kiss of the Cobra King (Live)
  13. Lupus Daemonis (Intro)
  14. We Take It from the Living
  15. Prayer in the Dark
  16. Saturday Satan
  17. In Bloody We Trust
  18. Behind the Leathermask
  19. Vampires Don't Die
  20. When the Moon Shines Red
  21. Mother Mary Is a Bird of Prey
  22. Tiger of Sabrod
  23. Lupus Dei
  24. We Take It from the Living (Live)
  25. Prayer in the Dark (Live)
  26. Saturday Satan (Live)
  27. In Blood We Trust (Live)
  28. Mother Mary Is a Bird of Prey (Live)
  29. Lupus Dei (Live)

Added: May 21st 2014
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1930
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by