Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Sweet, Michael: I'm Not Your Suicide

Christian rock/metal group Stryper reunited with their original lineup in 2003 and have gone on to release three excellent recordings the most recent 2013's No More Hell To Pay, which was very well received. Now Michael Sweet (lead vocalist and guitarist) has a new album of his own I'm Not Your Suicide another highly enjoyable recording. Michael Sweet is no stranger to solo albums his last was 2007's Touched and besides fronting Stryper Michael has also performed with the legendary rock group Boston.

Drum legend Kenny Aronoff appears on the album and other guest inclusions are vocalist Tony Harnell (TNT) on "Taking On The World Tonight", "This Time" has vocalist Kevin Max (Dc Talk, Audio Adrenaline), vocalist Chris Jericho (Fozzy) and guitarist Doug Aldrich (Whitesnake) appear on "Anybody Else". Fellow Stryper members drummer Robert Sweet and bass player Timothy Gaines perform on "How To Live" and the splendid cover of Neil Young's "Heart Of Gold" has a duet with Michael and vocalist Electra Mustaine (daughter of Dave) on the remixed version.

Michael Sweet's vocals remain strong and so very appealing and his guitar work is also diverse and impressive like when he lets it rip with a cracking solo on "Unsuspecting". I'm Not Your Suicide has some great rockers like the grooving opener "Taking On The World Tonight" and the title track, a song about the serious problem of bullying. The lighter numbers are also very good especially "This Time" which is such a stunning track, a moving and irresistible song and one where Michaels's vocals are once again so entrancing. There's a country feel to "Coming Home", while "Miles Away" is another song like "Strong" and many others that I instantly took a shine to.

I'm Not Your Suicide is a not to be missed album for the fans of Michael Sweet and quality rock releases.

Track Listing
1. Taking On The World Tonight
2. All That's Left
3. The Cause
4. This Time
5. I'm Not Your Suicide
6. Coming Home
7. Miles Away
8. Strong
9. How To Live
10. Heart Of Gold
11. Anybody Else
12. Unsuspecting
13. Heart Of Gold (Remix)

Added: May 18th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Artist's Website
Hits: 1566
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by