Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Retribution: Corpus Antichristi Y3K

Retribution are a seven piece band from Valencia in Spain consisting of the somewhat surreally named L. Shihan: lead vocals, Itea Benedicto: soprano, Zakk Threat: rhythm guitars, Noos: lead guitars, Rhad: orchestra (yep, you read that correctly…orchestra,)Tagotis: bass and Bobine Wizard: drums. They've been around since 2005, released an EP last year following their 2007 debut album. L. Shihan provides the, "hellish growls," whilst the soprano Itea Benedicto adds colour and light to the shade which undoubtedly underpins their sound.

Everything including the proverbial kitchen sink is thrown at each song on this album; it's grandiose in the extreme and is in many ways the very epitome of what one would expect in the symphonic black metal genre, besides the over-the-top nature of the production, the pummelling drums tick all the relevant boxes but the operatic duets take it to a whole different level. Recommended.

Track listing:
 1. Arcarius Mallefico
 2. Opus Serpentis
 3. Corpus Antichristi Y3K
 4. The One
 5. The Promised Land
 6. Uinseann's Lullaby
 7. Gobekli Tepe
 8. The Ark of Annihilation
 9. Like a Lamb Among Wolves
10. Trinity, a new Start
11. Retribution

Added: May 14th 2014
Reviewer: Simon Bray
Related Link: Band's Facebook Page
Hits: 1800
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by