Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Dio: Live in London-Hammersmith Apollo 1993 (SD Blu-ray)

This previously unreleased live performance from December 12th, 1993 features the then newly reformed Dio playing in front of an adoring audience at the Hammersmith Apollo in London. Touring in support of their new album Strange Highways, the band, Ronnie James Dio on vocals, new guitarist Tracy G, drummer Vinny Appice, ex-Dokken bassist Jeff Pilson, and keyboard player Scott Warren, played selections from the new album, some early Dio classics, and a few songs from Ronnie's days in Black Sabbath & Rainbow.

Released by Eagle Rock on the SD Blu-ray format (standard definition), Live in London-Hammersmith Apollo 1993 still looks pretty decent despite not being in high definition, and the audio is presented in uncompressed stereo and DTS HD High Resolution Surround Sound, which sounds great. With Tracy G in the band, this was to be a fairly short lived version of Dio, but the Strange Highways album is quite strong and very heavy, and you can certainly see the group was having a good time playing together. The tracks selected from that new album come across very well live, with the title track, "Hollywood Black", and "Here's To You" especially boasting some monstrously heavy riffs and the normal dark vibe that you would expect from this band. Ronnie's in fine voice on classics like "Stand Up and Shout", "Don't Talk to Strangers", "Rainbow in the Dark", "We Rock", "Holy Diver", and "The Last in Line", all mandatory staples of the live set, and they even dip into "Heaven and Hell", "The Mob Rules", "Children of the Sea", and a snippet from Rainbow's "Man on the Silver Mountain". Lengthy solos from the band members are also included, making sure you don't forget you are witnessing a heavy metal concert after all.

The bonus feature shows footage of the band prior to and after the gig, with mini interviews prior to them going on stage and getting some make-up applied. Some funny and insightful commentary from each member, and you can really see & hear how much they are happy to be back out on the road again. Overall this is an enjoyable live Blu-ray of a solid version of the Dio band that doesn't often get mentioned these days, and another reminder of just how great a talent Ronnie was and how much he's missed today.

Track Listing
1) Stand Up and Shout
2) Strange Highways
3) Don't Talk to Strangers
4) Evilution
5) Pain
6) The Mob Rules
7) Children of the Sea
8) Holy Diver
9) Heaven and Hell
10) Man on a Silver Mountain
11) Drum Solo
12) Heaven and Hell (reprise)
13) Jesus Mary & the Holy Ghost
14) Hollywood Black
15) The Last in Line
16) Rainbow in the Dark
17) We Rock
18) Here's to You
Bonus Material: Hanging with the Band

Added: May 6th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2663
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by