Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Voyager: V

The progressive metal and then some Australian group Voyager return with a new album V. That excellent quality of Voyager's memorable four prior albums with my favourite being I Am The Revolution will certainly see many with high expectations for this their fifth release. The band haven't just been releasing great albums, Voyager have backed this up enjoying further international exposure through tours with prominent metal groups including the likes of Nightwish, Epica, Orphaned Land and Soilwork.

I can see V appealing to such a wide range of music fans not just the metal devotees, that's the scope of Voyager's music as with their prior albums and they are certainly a hit in my household being one of quite different musical tastes. It soon becomes evident that so much effort has gone into the creation of V, I just can't fault or possible ask for anymore than what Voyager have accomplished on this album.

The wonderful vocals of Danny Estrin distinguish Voyager from most metal groups, with a style and sound that you would usually find accompanying lighter popular music. Voyager's very accessible style of metal is extremely catchy and melodic with sufficient complexity, their addictive music if fuelled by the ever so tasty guitars of Scott Kay and Simone Dow and Danny Estrin's enchanting keyboards. The masterful contributions of drummer Ashley Doodkorte and the prominent work of bass player Alex Canion also deserve special mention after their monumental performances on V.

Thanks to this seriously talented group you press play and in no time this album has you spellbound. "Hyperventilating's" grooving progressive metal is so compelling while "Breaking Down" has a familiar upbeat Voyager feel. "A Beautiful Mistake" is a stellar metal track, that irresistible heavy pattern at the start with the soaring guitars and keyboards are a great touch just like the added female vocals. "You, The Shallow" is both powerful and flowing with more compelling music, "Orpheus" is fine mix of complexity, tempo changes and melodic charms. Ashley Doodkorte's dynamic drumming continues to impress on "Peacekeeper" and "It's A Wonder". You just can't do this album enough justice in writing it has to be heard, so be sure to keep an eye out for V's release in June.

As good as those previous releases were Voyager have now recorded their best yet, and in doing do have left many other bands in their wake. V is just amazing there is simply no better way to sum this stunning album up or do it justice.

Track Listing
1. Hyperventilating
2. Breaking Down
3. A Beautiful Mistake
4. Fortune Favours Our Blind
5. You, The Shallow
6. Embrace The Limitless
7. Orpheus
8. Domination Game
9. Peacekeeper
10. It's A Wonder
11. The Morning Light
12. The Summer Always Comes Again
13. Seasons of Age

Added: July 9th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Facebook Page
Hits: 4377
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by