Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Little Feat: Live in Holland 1976 (CD/DVD)

They may be from California, but the legendary Little Feat always did a great job crankin' out some Southern fried rock 'n' roll, funk, and boogie. Their 1978 live album Waiting For Columbus has long been considered one of the best live albums of that decade, but now, freshly out of the vaults comes Live in Holland 1976, a CD/DVD set of a concert recorded at the Dutch festival Pinkpop on June 7, 1976, that easily gives the 1978 set a run for its money. Featuring the line-up of Lowell George (vocals, guitar), Bill Payne (keyboards, vocals), Richie Hayward (drums), Paul Barrere (vocals, guitar), Sam Clayton (percussion), and Kenny Gradney (bass), the band roll through a host of their best loved songs at that time, so look for plenty of irresistible grooves, funky & rockin' arrangements, and lots of jamming.

If you've been following this band for a long time, then you know just what the impact classic tunes like "All That You Dream", "Rock and Roll Doctor", "Dixie Chicken", "Fat Man in a Bathtub", and "Feats Don't Fail Me Now" can have on an audience. Whether the band is locked in tight on a rumbling, funky jam or blowing the roof off with some sizzling guitar solos from George & Barrere, the results are always impressive and get can any music fan in the right frame of mind. George for his part lays down some incredible slide guitar runs throughout this set, once again reminding us just how underrated a slide player the late guitarist always was. This is just a rocking live performance from the band, and considering that this line-up is considered the 'classic' Little Feat band, all you fans are really in for a treat.

The audio quality on the CD is fantastic, and while the DVD portion shows the age of the video source (and two songs don't make it to the video), it's still quite good for you to showcase on your home theater system. The booklet's a little on the skimpy side, but overall this is a very cool release from the folks at Eagle Rock that is sure going to make a lot of fans very happy. Mandatory listening for anyone who loves the jam scene, Southern Rock, and good old funky classic rock 'n' roll!

Track Listing
1) Skin it Back
2) Fat Man in a Bathtub
3) One Love Stand*
4) Rock and Roll Doctor
5) Oh Atlanta*
6) All That You Dream
7) Cold Cold Cold
8) Dixie Chicken
9) Tripe Face Boogie
10) Feats Dont' Fail Me Now
11) Teenage Nervous Breakdown
* not included on DVD

Added: April 30th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 2270
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by