Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Kalles World Tour: The Black And White Album

Kalles World Tour is the product of one musician, Kalle Mathiesen, hailing from Denmark . The drummer/multi-instrumentalist has been around for a number of years now and is back with his latest titled The Black And White Album.

There is no doubting Kalle has an unorthodox approach to music. His tours do not consist of large venues as he prefers to take his music to the streets. It is this life of a street musician that has led to many experiences and has helped to shape his music. His new album continues his trend of following is own muse. Each song is constructed from two uniquely opposite styles and blending them into a unique hybrid.

On the album Kalle plays drums, vocals, 6 string bass, loops and keys while Marie Ingerslev supplies the choir. On the whole the album is quite interesting with mixed results. Some tracks do not work for me like the talking vocals in "From Bali To Russia" and "From Russia To Tibet" while others are pretty decent like his forays into quirky pop as in the catchy "Monkey Me Monkey You" and the pseudo disco of "Russian Superstar". Other weird bits include the hip hop/classical mixture of "A Motherfucker Like Me Can Also Write A Symphony" where the rapping style x-rated vocals don't strike a chord and the blues/samba combo "I'm So Happy I Could Cry" containing some decent drumming and vocals.

For me, the album works better on the more cohesive songs. The shorter 'talking' vocal interludes I can do without and because so many different styles are represented there is a disjointed feel to the record. That said, Kalle should be praised for not following any particular trends and staying about as far from commercialism one can get. Too bad I find some of these songs a real chore to listen to.

Track Listing:
1. Monkey Me Monkey You
2. From Bali To Russia
3. Russian Superstar
4. From Russia To Tibet
5. Oldie But Goodie
6. From Tibet To USA
7. A Motherfucker Like Me Can Also Write A Symphony
8. From USA To Brazil
9. I'm So Happy I Could Cry
10. From Brazil To Denmark
11. Dikkedikkedik
12. Bitte Nicht Schiessen
13. From Berlin To Rodding
14. Mojn Mojn
15. Forever
16. Somebody's Still Playing Though There Is No Sound

Added: April 29th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Facebook Page
Hits: 1659
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by