Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

HEAVY JELLY: Heavy Jelly

Steve Lomax is a British borne musician who unfortunately passed away in the fall of 2013. He was a member of several '60s rock bands and in 1968 signed with famed label Apple Records. The origins of this long lost recording from 1970 is one of the more interesting anecdotes in rock music. To make a long story short HEAVY JELLY was borne out of the ashes of a fictitious band, or something to that effect. It really is an interesting story and I urge anyone remotely interested in rock history to further explore the background of this recording.

The album never saw an official release due to record company issues (not going to get into that here) until now, forty-four years later thanks to Angel Air Records. The band included former Animals drummer Barry Jenkins and members of Aynsley Dunbar's band Alex Dmochowski on bass and John Morshead on lead guitar. Badfinger members Pete Ham and Tom Evans provide harmony vocals on one track.

Heavy Jelly is a solid British blues rock album that is a product of its time and makes for some fine listening. The production quality is pretty good, considering the year was 1970, and the musicianship is solid throughout. You won't find much variety here, just solid blues rock like the album opening "You Better Let Me Know" and the soulful blues of "Just Don't Feel So Good" where Lomax's vocals are particularly inspired. "F-F-F-Females" is a blues rock lament on the fairer sex, love the lyrics in this one, while "Too Complicated" adds some wonderfully uplifting horn work courtesy of Bobby Keys and Jim Price. The album ends with "Take Me Down To The Water" and its mystical blues rock feel. The harmony vocals of Badfinger alumni Tom Evans and Pete Ham are superb as is the psychedelic inspired guitar work.

Angel Air deserves a hand for opening up the vaults and dusting off this long lost gem. I am sure Lomax would have been proud to it see finally released.

Track Listing:
1. You Better Let Me Know
2. Born For Something
3. Too Complicated
4. Just Don't Feel So Good
5. F-F-F-Females
6. Bio Blues
7. If You'd Like To
8. Take Me Down To The Water

Added: April 28th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Label's Official Site
Hits: 1572
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by