Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Clapton, Eric: Behind the Sun (Audio Fidelity Hybrid SACD/CD Limited Edition)

Released back in 1985, Behind the Sun was seen as a major comeback for blues-rock guitar legend Eric Clapton, containing a few popular radio singles as well as getting the artist exposure on the then huge MTV. Produced by Phil Collins, who at the time had become a mega solo artist outside of his work with Genesis, there's a strong pop feel throughout Behind the Sun that was no doubt influenced by the drummer/vocalist. Collins also appears on drums on many of the songs, in addition to a fine cast of musicians that include Jeff Porcaro, Donald 'Duck' Dunn, Steve Lukather, Peter Robinson, Nathan East, Lenny Castro, and many others.

Most certainly recall the hits, "Forever Man" and "She's Waiting", both fine tunes with catchy hooks and Clapton's searing guitar licks, but there are a few other strong tracks included here. "Same Old Blues" is a slow blues number complete with Clapton's boozy vocals and plenty of stinging guitar solos, and he does a commendable job on the cover of the soul classic "Knock on Wood". "Something's Happening" mixes reggae with pop to mixed results, and "See What Love Can Do" is a nice enough pop ditty, but would probably sound better on a Phil Collins record. The same can be said for the tepid "It All Depends", but "Tangled in Love" is a bit more upbeat, with some catchy vocal harmonies and a tasty guitar solo. More atmospheric, dreamy pop can be heard on "Never Make You Cry" before Clapton breaks into the emotional rocker "Just Like a Prisoner", which shows not only his textured guitar lines but his skills as a vocalist. The brief, mournful title track closes out the album on a tranquil note.

For guitar fans, sadly, there's not a lot of firepower here on Behind the Sun, but it is the album that broke Clapton wide open in front of mainstream pop fans. A bit too many ballads, sure, but it's a decent enough album with many memorable tracks. As with all the Audio Fidelity releases, this one sounds fantastic in either your SACD or conventional CD player, so expect to hear all the little nuances of each song as never before.

Track Listing

  1. She's Waiting
  2. See What Love Can Do
  3. Same Old Blues
  4. Knock on Wood
  5. Something's Happening
  6. Forever Man
  7. It All Depends
  8. Tangled in Love
  9. Never Make You Cry
  10. Just Like a Prisoner
  11. Behind the Sun

Added: April 19th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Audio Fidelity Website
Hits: 1859
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by