Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Graves at Sea/Sourvein: Split EP

Here we have two modern doom acts putting their efforts together for a solid little 5 song split EP, Portland's Graves at Sea and Cape Fear's Sourvein. Side A contains 2 tunes from Graves at Sea, the plodding "Betting on Black", complete with crushing riffs and black metal styled 'beastie' rasp vocals, and the rampaging "Confession". Sort of like old Cradle of Filth gone doom, Graves at Sea have a unique sound and are certainly somewhat of a breath of fresh air in the doom genre. Over on Side B you get three 3 tracks from Sourvein, who take the opposite end of the spectrum with a more traditional doom/stoner vibe. Big fat riffs & grooves on the Black Sabbath meets Melvins trip that is "Drifter", and "Equinox" has a somewhat psychedelic edge, with swirling guitars and haunting vocal effects. Last song "Follow the Light" takes things down Saint Vitus avenue, as the throbbing, doom laden riffing and pained vocals remind of the US legends. Good stuff here from these two bands, so check it out.

Track Listing
1) Betting on Black (Graves at Sea)
2) Confession (Graves at Sea)
3) Drifter (Sourvein)
4) Equinox (Sourvein)
5) Follow the Light (Sourvein)

Added: April 17th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Seventh Rule Recordings
Hits: 1740
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by