Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Colin Vallon Trio: Le Vent

Le Vent is all about subtlety, whether that be sleight of hand, suggested themes and ideas, or a subtle power which builds and builds into a restrained fury, without you even noticing. It is an impressive skill and one the trio of Colin Vallon on piano, Patrice Moret on double bass and new drummer to this triangular attack, Julian Sartorius expound at will; building songs through gentle refrain, before almost exploding them out of sight through a momentous momentum that draws you in and then almost runs you over.

The trio may be Vallon's, but Sartorius is a star, his cymbal work puncturing through a variety of atmospheres to bring a new colour to each and every song his performance touches. Yet without the double bass work from Moret, the room for the percussion to play would be far more restrictive. And then, obviously, you can't deny that the powerful, poignant, piano from Vallon, nor his song writing (nine of twelve tracks and two co-writes with his band mates Moret composed opening piece "Juuichi") is really what Le Vent is ultimately driven by.

This three piece know exactly how to threaten through deft touch and exactly how to make big themes feel small and intimate, all the while catching your ear through tiny twists and turns, which in less skilled hands would feel like an ocean liner trying to do a three pointer. However the real beauty comes from skilfully arranged pieces which often say more by remaining silent, yet somehow seem to whisper via a cacophony of sound. Subtle is turned on its head and delivered in a variety of unassuming styles, which ultimately grow in force through this almost magic touch.

Le Vent is not an album for all occasions, it is too involved for that, too intricate, too insistent on your concentration. So squirrel it away and keep it all to yourself for those moments when shutting the door leaves the outside world at bay. You'll be glad you did.

Track Listing
1. Juuichi
2. Immobile
3. Le Vent
4. Cendre
5. Fade
6. Goodbye
7. Le Quai
8. Pixels
9. Altalena
10. Rouge
11. Styx
12. Coriolis

Added: April 8th 2014
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Colin Vallon Online
Hits: 1729
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by