Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Anubis Gate: Horizons

Here is a release that many are eager to hear, Horizons the sixth album from the Danish progressive metal group Anubis Gate.

Guitarist Michael Bodin from Third Eye and Northern Empire together with drummer Morten Gade Sorensen of Pyramaze and Wuthering Heights are new additions since Anubis Gate's last full lenght release Anubis Gate. What is an unusual coincedence is that Morten Sorensen is also the name of their former drummer, so what are the odds of that? With their line-up in great shape Anibus Gate set to work recording an album that covers a wider musical spectrum, along with the progressive metal this album shows there is more to Anibus Gate than their metallic side. That variation is no surpise when you notice that Savatage, Genesis, Iron Maiden, Queensryche, King Crimson, Iced Earth, Crimson Glory and Fates Warning are noted as Anubis Gate's inspirations, and they did also release a most welcome Pink Floyd cover. The versatile musicianship on this album is top notch and bass player Henrik Fevres who moved to the lead vocalist position is very adaptable on this his second album in the role.

Horizons has a slightly longer version of the enticing "Destined To Remember" to that which was included on the free downloadable EP Sheep. Henrik takes the spotlight from the start of "Never Like This (A Dream)" this very enjoyable track has a gripping solo section and entrancing chorus."Hear My Call" is quite the shifter, Anibus Gate are grooving with potency to introduce "Airways". Morten's stirring drumming is in full swing powering it up on "Revolution Come Undone". Horizon has more quality tracks to enjoy like the motivating music of "Breach Of Faith" , the glowing progressive metal of "Mindlessness"and their wonderful title track "Horizons". The longest inclusion "A Dream Within A Dream" is a standout and a fantastic changing musical ride they you will want to take over and over. The first thing I noticed was lyrics incorporated from an earlier track which was a cool touch, finally Anubis Gate bring this excellent new album to a close on a lighter acoustic note with "Erasure".

When we look back on 2014 Anubis Gate's Horizon will surley be in contention as one of the premier progressive releases.

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1. Destined To Remember
2. Never Like This (A Dream)
3. Hear My Call
4. Airways
5. Revolution Come Undone
6. Breach Of Faith
7. Mindlessness
8. Horizons
9. A Dream Within A Dream
10. Erasure

Added: April 4th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 4469
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by