Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Zwijsen, Thomas: Nylonized

Nylonized follows last year's Nylon Maiden both the work of Dutch guitarist Thomas Zwijsen. Nylon Maiden featured Thomas's classical take on eleven tracks originally recorded by one of metal's most successful acts Iron Maiden, and this latest collection is a mixture of both covers and original compositions. When Thomas performs these covers he aims to capture as many of the instruments as possible through his classical guitar playing, while keeping as faithful to the originals as possible. I read that metal and flamenco are his favourite genres, and that he studied classical, jazz and Brazilian guitar and has been playing metal for years.

Title number "Nylonized" is an instrumental with acoustic and electric guitars,drums,bass and keyboards but don't get used to this as Nylonized is predominantly an acoustic guitar affair and as for vocals well those are limited to just two tracks. Rainbow's "Black Masquerde" and Dream Theater's "Panic Attack" were great choices and sounds like they were written for Thomas's interpretation. Thomas is obviously a Maiden fan given his debut and the inclusion on Nylonized of "Flash Of The Blade" with the combination of guitar and some percussion is so welcoming, this is a must hear for anyone who appreciates not only a great song but a truly talented performer. The Bond movie track "Skyfall" by Adele also adapts very well, the original is quite moving and Thomas's feel captures much of that emotion.

Guest appearances are many on Nylonized including keyboardist Derek Sherinian (ex. Dream Theater, Black Country Communion) and vocalist's David Readman (Pink Cream 69), Damian Wilson (Threshold, Headspace) and Blaze Bayley (ex. Iron Maiden) who all appear on "Perfect Storm".

I am most pleased to have received this release for review as a fan of guitarists/composers like Jesse Cook, Thomas Zwijsen's colourful and always tasteful performances are right up my alley.

Track Listing
1. Nylonized
2. Black Masquerade (Rainbow)
3. Panic Attack (Dream Theater)
4. Behind Blue Eyes (The Who)
5. Flash Of The Blade (Iron Maiden)
6. Poison (Alice Cooper)
7. Twilight Zone (Golden Earring)
8. Highway Star (Deep Purple)
9. Journey To The South
10. Skyfall (Adele)
11. Perfect Storm
12. La Última Canción (AgustínBarrios Mangoré)

Added: March 29th 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Artist Site
Hits: 2026
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by