Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Deep Purple: Live in California 74

Though it packs slightly less of an impact than the actual video of this event, Deep Purple's appearance at the 1974 California Jam was a milestone concert for the band in any shape or form. The first MAJOR unveiling in the US of the new line-up featuring vocalist David Coverdale and bassist/vocalist Glenn Hughes at the massive festival in front of over 200,000 people (co-headlining with ELP) was a really big event, and showed this new Mark III version of the band in thunderous form playing new tracks off the then new album Burn as well as a few old favorites.

Coverdale & Hughes proved to be a potent vocal combination, and this show sees them at the height of their powers together. Though this festival was at the tail end of their short North American tour in support of Burn, it was billed as a major appearance for the band and no doubt exposed them to many fans on the West Coast who had yet to see this new line-up. New songs like "Burn", "Might Just Take Your Life", and "Lay Down, Stay Down", mix heavy rock with a little funk, the dual vocal attack adding a new dimension to the bands sound. The core of Deep Purple however, Ritchie Blackmore, Jon Lord, and Ian Paice, continue to drive the group. Blackmore's guitar pyrotechnics on "You Fool No One" just kill, and his searing blues licks alongside Coverdale's soulful pipes on "Mistreated" are a thing of beauty. "Smoke on the Water" is solid, though perhaps missing Ian Gillan's touch, and the monolithic "Space Truckin' " is high energy hard rock, complete with solos and destruction. Unfortunately, just having the audio we miss out on Blackmore's devastating video camera attack and subsequent guitar & amplifier smash-up, but hey, if you have the DVD, you've already seen it.

This is high energy, hard rocking Deep Purple, and one of the better live documents available of the Mark III line-up. Thank you Eagle Rock for getting this one out there in CD format!

See more about this release on our recent YouTube show!

Track Listing
1) Burn
2) Might Just Take Your Life
3) Lay Down, Stay Down
4) Mistreated
5) Smoke on the Water
6) You Fool No One/The Mule
7) Space Truckin'

Added: March 27th 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1899
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by