Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lionize: Jetpack Soundtrack

I know that the Sea of Tranquility is on the moon and that the eleventh track on this album is not a tribute to this website. It would be awesome if it was a tribute. It could even become a site song, something that plays when people visit the site. Who knows?

Even though the members of Lionize aren't really giving us any love, I've got plenty for them. I saw them perform in Salt Lake City a little while ago and thought they were terrific. I especially love the song "No Exit" from an earlier album. The chorus—"hell is other people"—is not only a reference to the French play No Exit but also a frank statement of fact (at least sometimes, you know?).

Lionize stands out from other bands because of their playful lyrics. Yes, other bands have playful lyrics, but I think others will agree with me that Lionize has a wit and a charm that gives them an edge. I'm not talking about the flood of lyrical adolescence and pop culture references that bands like Bare Naked Ladies made popular a decade or so ago. Nope, this is stronger stuff, more intelligent, even more interesting.

With Jetpack Soundtrack, Lionize give listeners more of their delightful charm but add to it a healthy dose of genuinely strong musicianship. Whatever other people think of the band's blend of funk, rock, and reggae, the musical talent of each member comes through brightly, like a ray of sunlight. Even better, these guys play with just the right amounts of swagger and grace, blending the disparate styles effectively and convincingly. I also enjoyed the theme of the album, a funky romp through science fiction across various media—graphic novels, film, and the like.

Highlights on this album include "Evolve," Electric Reckoning," the fun title track, "Replaced by Machines," "Amazing Science Facts," and "Skynet." The only track I didn't very much, ironically, was the aforementioned "Sea of Tranquility." I'm not sure why—was hoping for something else, I guess.

Lionize is great in concert. Unfortunately, most of their shows this summer are on the Vans Warped Tour and the lineup is pretty mixed. I hope the audience for that festival appreciates this band. I really hope so.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Breather
3. Evolve
4. Electric Reckoning
5. Jetpack Sountrack
6. Replaced by Machines
7. Reality Check
8. Lazarus Style
9. Amazing Science Facts
10. Skynet
11. Sea of Tranquility

Added: March 20th 2014
Reviewer: Carl Sederholm
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 2865
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

» Reader Comments:

Lionize: Jetpack Soundtrack
Posted by Nathan Bergman / Lionize on 2014-03-24 22:44:36
My Score:

We have plenty of love for you. Great review, thanks for the support.

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by