Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

RPWL: A Show Beyond Man and Time

With a discography of 12 albums or DVDs, RPWL needs little introduction in the progressive rock music community. This Freising German band has been making wonderful, thought- provoking progressive rock since their inception back in 1997. They have stretched their musical abilities far beyond their original intention as a Pink Floyd cover band.

The band named after their original band member's first letter of their last names, now is made up of original members Yogi Lang, on keyboards and lead vocals, and Kalle Wallner, on lead guitar. The other band members include: Markus Jehle, on keyboards; Marc Turiaux, on drums; and Werner Taus, on bass.

They have unleashed their latest, A Show Beyond Man and Time, including two CDs and an accompanying DVD of the concert in Metal Mind's favorite "playground", the Wyspiański Theater in Katowice, Poland.

The CD and DVD both contain all twelve tracks of the full performance of this deep concept album, from 2012, that needed to be seen in its entirety to be fully appreciated. Every note is carefully planned and executed in this powerful drama set to music. The music concept envisions Nietzsche's famous book, Thus Spoke Zarathustra. The album's title borrows from the concept of Nietzsche's phrase within the work, "6000 feet beyond man and time". The book is about the journey of Zarathustra, who was the Persian founder of Zoroastrianism. During his journey, Zarathustra encounters several characters, which in the DVD version, band member Yogi Lang plays each character well.

This is a masterful work by this dynamic prog band and one of their best albums and concepts to date. Every song is a treasure to relax and enjoy. Full of deep bass, surround keyboards, powerful drums and Wallner's soaring Gilmour like guitar solos. Most of the tracks are long, 6 minutes or more. Several are 10 minutes or longer. I have to agree with most reviewers that "Roses" with Ray Wilson, former lead singer of Genesis and Stiltskin, is the best track on the CD or DVD. Buy this and sit back and let RPWL take you on a journey of consciousness.

Track Listing:

01. Transformed
02. We Are What We Are (The Keeper)
03. Beyond Man and Time (The Blind)
04. Unchain the Earth (The Scientist)
05. The Ugliest Man (The Ugly)
06. The Road of Creation (The Creator)
07. Somewhere In Between (The Dream Of Saying Yes)
08. The Shadow
09. The Wise in the Desert
10. The Fisherman
11. The Noon
12. Roses (with Ray Wilson)

Added: March 19th 2014
Reviewer: Mark Johnson
Related Link:
Hits: 2061
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by