Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Lundberg, Jonathan: Nebula

Hailing from Sweden, drummer Jonathan Lundberg has released his debut album Nebula. We all know what a hotbed of music Sweden has become in the world of progressive sounds and Lundberg does a nice job of living up to the lofty standards set by his fellow countrymen. Nebula is some of the most melodic fusion I have heard in quite some time. Lundberg has also put together a massive cast of guest musicians for the album and lets many of them take the spotlight when the need arises. The musicianship is top quality throughout but never at the expense of 'the song' and the soloing is very tasteful and never feels unnecessary. Classy stuff indeed.

The album begins with "Phantom", a nice slice of up-tempo melodic fusion. From its orchestral beginning to tasty guitar riffs that just might remain in your head long after the song is finished, it is a great way to start the album. The tempo is a little slower on the mellower "7 to 8" punctuated with delicate piano lines. On the title track melodic riffs of keyboards and guitar abound and is highlighted by some fancy fretwork courtesy of Carl Mörner and while his playing is lightning fast it totally fits the scope of the song. Lundberg expands is palette here adding more complicated fills. Delicate acoustic guitar phrasings highlight the Latin-like "Clavero" and although the album loses a bit of momentum with the ballad "Quicktrip", all saccharine and sweet, the pace picks up again with "Siberia" featuring the tasty guitar acrobatics of Erik Linder and absorbing drum work from Lundberg. The jazzy "Snowflake" is another slower number and the only song to feature vocals.

Nebula is a solid fusion album and although it does lose some steam in the second half, the musicianship and songwriting is strong and the melodies rich and rewarding. Lundberg is definitely an artist to watch for.

Track Listing:
1. Phantom (5:03)
2. 7 to 8 (4:28)
3. Nebula (5:28)
4. Clavero (6:03)
5. Quicktrip (4:30)
6. Siberia (4:33)
7. Snowflake (5:20)
8. Higgs Intro (1:34)
9. Higgs (5:34)
10. Heavens Maze (5:52)

Added: March 13th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Artist's Official Site
Hits: 1538
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

© 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content © Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by