Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Theater Of The Absurd: The Myth Of Sisyphus

Theater Of The Absurd is a two man band based out of New York. They released their self-titled debut in 2007 and six years later have finally released their second titled The Myth Of Sisyphus. The main players are Mike Neumeister (acoustic and electric guitars, bass) and Patrick Curley (drums, extreme vocals). Guest musicians include Chandler Mogel (vocals) and Tor Morten Kjosnes (acoustic grand piano, keyboards).

What struck me right away is the outstanding artwork, with a painting by Zoran Velimanovic entitled Ship Of Fools adorning the front cover. The surrealistic undersea scape is incredibly detailed and just fascinating to look at, much like the music found within.

The instrumentation is excellent throughout the album and make no mistake this is not progressive metal by the numbers. What you will find here are changing tempos, heavy slabs of atmosphere, mix of clean and growled vocals, varying twists and turns and the technical chops to make it flow seamlessly from one section to the next. And of course the heavy riffs, of which there are many.

The album is off and running with the dynamic opener "False Idols" and its formidable display of chops and technical prowess. The drums evolve into some cool rhythmic patterns while smatterings of acoustic piano add an organic quality. The vocals are strong with some soaring parts and the growls act as a nice counter balance. The guitar work is quite edgy, as it is through much of the album, and when the intensity eases the music oozes mood and atmosphere. "The Lesser Gods" is highlighted by an excellent vocal melody, sublime drum work, imaginative guitar riffs and more serene sections of moodiness. "Trade Winds" features cool entanglements of piano and guitar that take the song in some interesting directions. In the ambitious "Rising Tides in Still Water" serene piano lines meld with twisted metallic guitar riffs creating an intense and atmospheric listening experience. The operatic female vocals of Kjersti Kveli are a nice compliment to Curley's demonic growls. The rest of the tracks are equally as dynamic and worthy of your attention.

Theater of the Absurd has released an excellent album and one that I recommend without reservation. Definitely a band to watch out for.

Track Listing:
1. False Idols (6:11)
2. The Lesser Gods (8:35)
3. Trade Winds (8:15)
4. Rising Tides in Still Water (7:41)
5. For Nostalgia's Burden, Part I: Our Quiet Fears (7:08)
6. For Nostalgia's Burden, Part II: In My Time of Solace (6:43)
7. Black Wind from Mr. Takamine ~Pat's Nap~ (1:27)
8. Changing Direction (6:36)

Added: March 13th 2014
Reviewer: Jon Neudorf
Related Link: Band's Official Site
Hits: 2662
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by