Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Doors, The: R-Evolution (Blu-ray)

R-Evolution is a collection of rare TV appearances and music films from legendary 60's act The Doors, presented here on spectacular Blu-ray from Eagle Rock Entertainment/Eagle Vision. For the hardcore fan, the wealth of previously unreleased footage here will make this a must purchase. All the footage has been carefully restored, and the audio remixed and mastered for 5.1 by Bruce Botnick.

While casual fans might find these lip-synced TV performances somewhat 'ho-hum', a few are actually fun to watch thanks to the presence of Jim Morrison, who oozes a mysterious confidence on "Moonlight Drive" from the Jonathan Winters Show, as well as "The Crystal Ship" and "Light My Fire" from Dick Clark's American Bandstand. Their mini-film for "The Unknown Soldier" is actually quite chilling, with some horrendous war footage from Vietnam sprinkled throughout. "Touch Me" from the Smothers Brothers Show is very entertaining (with full horn section), and the films for "Wild Child", "Roadhouse Blues", "Crawling King Snake", and "The Changeling" take you behind the scenes, in the studio, and on stage with the Doors. You can really see the persona of Jim Morrison begin to unravel through some of these clips, as his initial mysterious frontman image quickly become an out of control enigma.

Plenty of bonus features are included on this Blu-ray, including a 47-minute documentary with an assortment of interview segments from Ray Manzarek, Jac Holzman, Bruce Botnik, Robby Krieger, and John Densmore, as they look back on the glory days of the band. A killer version of "Break On Through (To the Other Side)" from their performance at the 1970 Isle of Wight Festival is also here, as well as a never before seen 1966 Ford training film with music by The Doors. As I mentioned earlier, for the loyal fan, R-Evolution contains a treasure chest of previously unreleased goodies, and considering the age of much of this material, it's all presented with stunning clarity from an audio & visual standpoint. Once again, Eagle Rock knocks it out of the park!

Track Listing
1. Break on Through (To the Other Side) – Music Film – January, 1967
2. Break on Through (To the Other Side) – Shebang – March 6, 1967
3. The Crystal Ship – American Bandstand – July 22, 1967
4. Light My Fire – American Bandstand – July 22, 1967
5. Light My Fire – Malibu U – August 25, 1967
6. People Are Strange – Murray the K in New York – September 22, 1967
7. Moonlight Drive - The Jonathan Winters Show – December 27, 1967
8. The Unknown Soldier – Music Film – February, 1968
9. Hello, I Love You – Musix für Junge Leute: 4-3-2-1 Hot and Sweet – September 13, 1968
10. Touch Me - The Smothers Brothers Comedy Hour – December 15, 1968
11. Wild Child – Music Film – July, 1969
12. Roadhouse Blues – Music Film – February, 1970
13. Crawling King Snake – GTK (Get to Know) – December, 1970
14. The Changeling – Music Film – April, 1971
15. Gloria – Music Film – October, 1983
16. People Are Strange – Music Film – 1980s
17. Strange Days – Music Film – 1984
18. L.A. Woman – Music Film – 1985
19. Ghost Song – Music Film – 1995

Bonus Features
Love Thy Customer (Music by The Doors)-Ford training film
Outtakes: Malibu U 1967
Break On Through (To the Other Side) -live from Isle of Wight
Breaking Through the Lens (documentary)

Added: March 2nd 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Eagle Rock Entertainment
Hits: 1703
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

Š 2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Š Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by