Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Cooper, Alice: Billion Dollar Babies (Audio Fidelity/Hybrid SACD)

Billion Dollar Babies, the classic 1973 album from Alice Cooper, is easily for many a desert island disc, a rock 'n' roll album of raw power, expert songwriting, and top notch musicianship. At the time of its release, the Alice Cooper band had six albums under their belt, and began a huge sold out US tour that saw their stock rise to one of the most in demand bands of the day. While Warner Brothers reissued Billion Dollar Babies over a decade ago complete with a killer live bonus disc of a show from that tour, most fans have been waiting for that 'extra' special treatment of this beloved album. Now, enter the folks at Audio Fidelity, for their first Hybrid SACD release in over 10 years, releasing a numbered limited edition of the album mastered by Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering. It's playable on both SACD & standard CD players.

As I only have standard CD players here, I can't comment on the SACD format, but, even on a regular CD system, this sounds spectacular. There is a clarity here that you don't get with the previous CD releases, each instrument and nuance crystal clear & punchy. Honestly, I'm hearing little bits on tunes "Unfinished Sweet", "Hello Hooray", and "Raped and Freezin' " that I've never heard before, and staples such as "Elected", "No More Mr Nice Guy", and the kick ass title track sound crisper, more powerful than ever before. Those layers of guitars from Glen Buxton & Michael Bruce on "Generation Landslide" are just marvelous, and on this version you hear every little note. Dennis Dunaway's booming bass riffs and Alice's evil snarl on the psychotic metal classic "Sick Things" just burst from the speakers. And of course, there's the macabre "I Love the Dead"...just exquisite.

Every SACD Includes the classic Billion Dollar Bill, as well as faithfully recreated booklet filled with photos and lyrics. This is a mandatory purchase for any Alice Cooper fan, and if you've never experienced Billion Dollar Babies before (shame on you if that's the case!), then this is the version to check out. Essential!

Track Listing
1. Hello Hooray
2. Raped and Freezin'
3. Elected
4. Billion Dollar Babies
5. Unfinished Sweet
6. No More Mr. Nice Guy
7. Generation Landslide
8. Sick Things
9. Mary-Ann
10.I Love the Dead
Produced by Bob Ezrin
Mastered by Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering

Added: February 23rd 2014
Reviewer: Pete Pardo
Related Link: Audio Fidelity Website
Hits: 2108
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by