Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Flotsam and Jetsam: No Place For Disgrace

Flotsam and Jetsam the speed/thrash metal group who formed in the early eighties have re-released their second album No Place For Disgrace. The band had many requests to rework No Place For Disgrace as to improve the sound quality, but the original master tapes were so hard to get hold of so the decision was made to re-record the album. Flotsam and Jetsam didn't intend to make major alterations to the songs and after listening to No Place For Disgrace it's hard to disagree as this is still a very agreeable album that has benefited from the improved sound. Though I'll admit to being a bit of a sucker for those rawer more natural sounding albums of a band who are in their earlier stages. Sometimes with that extra polish it can be detrimental and diminish much of the individual character that you would otherwise hear.

You can't have a great thrash album without a kick ass guitarist and Flotsam and Jetsam has not one but two of those on No Place For Disgrace, as those riveting riffs the kind you want to hear again and again and tasty solos of this most competent duo make songs such as the title track "No Place To Disgrace", "Dreams Of Death", "N.E. Terror", "Hard On You" and "Misguided Fortune" so hard to resist. Flotsam and Jetsam throw in a surprise at the midway point with a cover of Elton John's "Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting)" a solid version that just doesn't fit at this point and maybe should have been left to last. Though this is the only negative as there are ample more appealing surprises in store just listen to "I live You Die".

Re-recording No Place For Disgrace was a positive move by metal veterans Flotsam and Jetsam this is classic and varied thrash album with plenty of hooks that still packs a punch. You may already have the original but sonically this is surely the superior version, and if you don't well then it's an easy choice.

Track Listing
1. No Place For Disgrace
2. Dreams Of Death
3. N. E. Terror
4. Escape From Within
5. Saturday Night's Alright (For Fighting)
6. Hard On You
7. I Live You Die
8. Misguided Fortune
9. P. A.A.B
10. The Jones

Added: February 23rd 2014
Reviewer: Scott Jessup
Related Link: Band Website
Hits: 1657
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index | Post Comment ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by