Sea Of Tranquility

The Web Source for Progressive Rock, Progressive Metal & Jazz-Fusion
  Search   in       
Main Menu

Adrenaline Mob: Men Of Honor

What started out as one in a number of bands gaining recognition for being part of mega-drummer Mike Portnoy's "rehab" after his removal from Dream Theater, Adrenaline Mob, completed by Symphony X frontman Russell Allen, bassist Paul DiLeo (also of Fozzy) and guitarists Mike Orlando and Rich Ward (Stuck Mojo/Fozzy), announced their arrival with a self titled EP and then a simply phenomenal, more forceful than anyone expected album of gritty Metal. By the time of that album, Omerta, the band were a three-piece of Allen, Orlando and Portnoy, with bassist Jamie Moyer (Disturbed) joining for the subsequent tour (the band's date in Glasgow ranks as one of the best shows I've ever witnessed!) and a second EP Coverta. Then the shattering news came that Portnoy was upping sticks and leaving to concentrate on his other numerous projects, seemingly leaving the A-Mob in the balance.

So here we are for album number two, Men Of Honor, with Allen, Orlando and Moyer joined by Twisted Sister drum thumper AJ Pero. Not the most obvious of choices maybe, but I doubt it is a coincidence that the album kicks in through a mighty percussive blast for "Mob Is Back". It has to be said, Portnoy isn't missed one bit. The song itself lays down an aggressive marker, bulging, yet focused through a riff hot enough to singe your eyebrows from the next town down the road. However "Come On Get Up" takes the challenge and swipes it clean out of the park through a simply unforgettable chorus and churning guitars. From there, dip into this album any place you want and you won't be let down in any way. Looking for something slower yet equally in your face? Try "Behind These Eyes". Wanting a more commercial slice of goodness? Then the Foo Fighters but with more balls of "Dearly Departed" hits that spot. "Let It Go" lays sown a thick bass led groove that'll have you convulsing in joyous agony, "Crystal Clear" provides an acoustic breather that proves as memorable as the more effusive outbursts, while "Judgement Day" takes the classic 'Tallica riff and drum response to a full on assault that finds Allen growling, rasping and biting for all he's worth he's excellent here and on every other track too.

Great though Allen is, his band mates refuse to be outshone, Moyer creating grooves and rhythms you simply can't repel, Pero hammering out beats and adding little intricacies at will, while Orlando's guitar work yet again proves to be simply stunning from start to finish. Bring them all together and the results are pretty phenomenal and I'd argue even better than anything Adrenalin Mob have achieved before. Hopefully they tour again on the back of Men Of Honor, if they do, I'll be there and you really should too. In the meantime go get yourself an album that will undoubtedly prove to be one of the best 2014 will have to offer.

Track Listing
1. Mob Is Back
2. Come On Get Up
3. Dearly Departed
4. Behind These Eyes
5. Let It Go
6. Feel The Adrenaline
7. Men Of Honor
8. Crystal Clear
9. House of Lifes
10. Judgement Day
11. Fallin' To Pieces

Added: March 4th 2014
Reviewer: Steven Reid
Related Link: Adrenaline Mob ONline
Hits: 3171
Language: english

[ Printer Friendly Page Printer Friendly Page ]
[ Send to a Friend Send to a Friend ]


[ Back to the Reviews Index ]

2004 Sea Of Tranquility
For information regarding where to send CD promos and advertising, please see our FAQ page.
If you have questions or comments, please Contact Us.
Please see our Policies Page for Site Usage, Privacy, and Copyright Policies.

All logos and trademarks in this site are property of their respective owner. The comments are property of their posters, all other content Sea of Tranquility

SoT is Hosted by